Garth Brooks, Leon Russell To Join Songwriters Hall

Garth Brooks (L), Leon Russell (R)

Garth Brooks, Leon Russell, John Bettis, Billy Steinberg & Tom Kelly and Allen Toussaint will become the newest members of the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the organization’s 42nd Annual Induction and Awards Dinner. The event is set for Thursday, June 16 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

Certified by the RIAA as the No. 1 selling solo artist in U.S. history, Brooks has sold more than 128 million albums and is the only solo artist in RIAA history to have six albums top the 10 million mark. As a songwriter his credits include “If Tomorrow Never Comes,” “The Thunder Rolls,” “Unanswered Prayers” and more.

Fellow inductee Leon Russell has been busy collaborating with Elton John. His songwriting credits include “A Song For You,” “This Masquerade,” ” Delta Lady,” “Tight Rope,” “Bluebird,” “Back To The Island,” and “Hummingbird.” He will also be honored with the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s first Award for Musical Excellence in March.

Other inductees include John Bettis, who has written songs that have sold more than 250 million records worldwide such as “Human Nature” and “Crazy For You;” musician, songwriter and record producer Allen Toussaint, who wrote songs “Yes We Can” and “Working in the Coalmine;” and Billy Steinberg & Tom Kelly who co-wrote five No. 1 singles on Billboard’s Hot 100 chart, including “Like A Virgin,” “True Colors,” and “Eternal Flame.”


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Tags: ,

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

View Author Profile