Jennings To Be Honored With Tribute Collection

Late country music icon Waylon Jennings will be honored with a deluxe tribute compilation on February 8, as Scatter Records and the Big Machine Label Group team up to release The Music Inside: A Collaboration Dedicated To Waylon Jennings, Vol. 1. Distribution and promotion will be handled by The Valory Music Co.

The star-studded tribute is part of a three volume project featuring some of country music’s best performing Jennings’ songs, including Kris Kristofferson, Jamey Johnson, Trace Adkins, Patty Griffin, and Sunny Sweeney. The lead single from Vol. 1 is “Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way,” which supergroup Alabama reunited to record. The single goes for adds Dec. 13.

The project was conceived in 2007 by Scatter Records founder Witt Stewart, who contacted Jennings’ widow Jessi Colter with the idea. Colter also appears on the tribute, dueting with Sunny Sweeney on “Good Hearted Woman.” Colter and Jennings’ son Shooter pays tribute as well, performing “Belle of the Ball” for Vol. 1. Every performance on the collection earned Jessi and Shooter’s blessing.

“There have been several tribute albums made in my father’s honor, all of which were great tributes to his legacy. But this one has been a true passion project for a lot of artists and friends who truly wanted to remember and give back to the wonderful man he was,” says Shooter. “In the years since my dad passed away, I’ve grown as an artist and I feel this is the first time I’ve been able to give back truly to the man who inspired, influenced and nurtured me and my musical passion.”

Volumes 2 and 3 are due to be released later in 2011.

Vol. 1 tracklist:

1.   This Time – Jamey Johnson
2.   Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way – Alabama
3.   I’m A Ramblin’ Man – Randy Houser
4.   Belle of the Ball – Shooter Jennings
5.   Good Hearted Woman – Sunny Sweeney and Jessi Colter
6.   Don’t You Think This Outlaw Bit’s Done Got Out Of Hand – James Otto
7.   Just To Satisfy You – John Hiatt w Waylon Jennings
8.   Rose In Paradise – Kris Kristofferson and Patty Griffin
9.   You Ask Me To – Trace Adkins
10. Go Down Rockin’ – Waylon Jennings

(Bonus Track)
The Wurlitzer Prize (I Don’t Want To Get Over You) – Chanel Campbell


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

View Author Profile