CMA Honors Triple Play Writers

(L-R) Steve Moore (CMA CEO), Dierks Bentley, Keith Urban, Carrie Underwood, Darius Rucker, Brad Paisley, Victoria Shaw (songwriter and Chair of CMA's Community Outreach & Education Committee), Taylor Swift, Alan Jackson, and Gary Overton (CMA Board President).

“This is an amazing accomplishment and we are very pleased to honor these talented songwriters, and songwriting artists, for their valued contribution to the format,” said Steve Moore, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “They each have a rare talent that is a gift for all of us to enjoy.”

The CMA Triple Play Awards, which honor songwriters who pen three chart-topping hits in a 12 month period, were presented at the Second Annual CMA Songwriters Luncheon, which was held at the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in Nashville. Attendees included Dierks Bentley, Alan Jackson, Brad Paisley, Darius Rucker, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, and Keith Urban in addition to hit tunesmiths from ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC, as well as songwriter members of CMA, NSAI, and representatives of some of the most successful publishers in Music City.

“CMA represents every aspect of the Country Music industry and it’s important for us to regularly communicate and reach out to the songwriters with information about what CMA does on their behalf and why it’s important to be a member of the CMA,” said noted songwriter/producer Victoria Shaw who chairs the CMA Community Outreach and Education Committee.

Honorees accepting awards at the luncheon (alphabetical order)

Rhett Akins: “Gimmie That Girl,” “All About Tonight,” “All Over Me”

Casey Beathard: “Find Out Who Your Friends Are,” “Don’t Blink,” “Ready, Set, Don’t Go”

Dierks Bentley: “Feel That Fire,” “Sideways,” “I Wanna Make You Close Your Eyes”

Zac Brown: “Chicken Fried,” “Whatever It Is,” “Toes”

Kristian Bush: “All I Want To Do,” “Already Gone,” “It Happens

Dallas Davidson: “That’s How Country Boys Roll,” “Gimmie That Girl,” “Rain is a Good Thing”

Tom Douglas: “I Run to You,” “Southern Voice,” “The House That Built Me”

Chris DuBois: “It Won’t Be Like This For Long,” “Then,” “Welcome to The Future”

Wyatt Durrette: “Chicken Fried,” “Whatever It Is,” “Toes”

Ashley Gorley: “All-American Girl,” “You’re Gonna Miss This,” “Start a Band  2009”

Ashley Gorley: “It Won’t Be Like This For Long,” “Then,” “American Saturday Night”

Ben Hayslip: “I’ll Just Hold On,” “Gimmie That Girl,” “All About Tonight”

Alan Jackson: “Small Town Southern Man,” “Good Time,” “Country Boy”

Brett James: “It’s America,” “Out Last Night,” “Summer Nights”

Brett James: “Cowboy Casanova,” “The Truth,” “The Man I Want To Be”

Luke Laird: “Hillbilly Bone,” “Temporary Home,” “Undo It”

Hillary Lindsey: “So Small,” “Last Name,” “Just A Dream”

Kelley Lovelace: “Online,” “All-American Girl,” “I’m Still A Guy”

Jennifer Nettles: “Stay,” “All I Want To Do,” “Already Gone”

Brad Paisley: “Online,” “Letter to Me,” “I’m Still A Guy”

Brad Paisley: “Then,” “Welcome To The Future,” “American Saturday Night”

Bobby Pinson: “All I Want To Do,” “She Never Cried In Front Of Me,” “Already Gone”

Monty Powell: “Sweet Thing,” “Kiss A Girl,” “Til Summer Comes Around”

Darius Rucker: “Don’t Think I Don’t Think About It,” “It Won’t Be Like This For Long,” “Alright”

Stephony Smith: “How Was I To Know,” “It’s Your Love,” “Perfect Love”

Jeffrey Steele: “Love Is A Beautiful Thing,” “Everyday,” “Here”

Taylor Swift: “Should’ve Said No,” “Love Story,” “White Horse”

Carrie Underwood: “Cowboy Casanova,” “Temporary Home,” “Undo It”

Carrie Underwood: “So Small,” “All-American Girl,” “Last Name”

Keith Urban: “Sweet Thing,” “Kiss A Girl,” “Til Summer Comes Around”


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured, Organizations

About the Author

David M. Ross has been covering Nashville's music industry for over 25 years. [email protected]

View Author Profile