Lauren Alaina Details Upcoming EP, ‘Getting Over Him’

Lauren Alaina is releasing a new song “Run,” from her upcoming new EP, Getting Over Him, on Friday (July 31). The track was co-written by Alaina, Ben Johnson and Kennedi.

“We are all running. Constantly. Non-Stop,” said Alaina. “Even in this quarantine, we are all still the busiest we’ve ever been. Life just keeps going and going and going in unbelievable paces as we try to race ourselves to the next thing. My idea with the song was to refer to examples of all things that run because no matter what your walk of life is we are all racing to the next thing. We are all trying to get where we are going. We all get our hearts broken. We all have these childhood dreams. We ‘run’ to make it all happen.”

Due out Sept. 4, Getting Over Him features two duets, including the title track duet with her labelmate/friend Jon Pardi. The Georgia native also enlisted international pop star Lukas Graham to duet with her on the vulnerable and heartbreaking “What Do You Think Of?”

“Lukas Graham’s vocal on this is ridiculous,” Alaina said. “I am the most nervous about releasing this one because I was so vulnerable when I wrote it. Most of my songs come from more of a sassy and empowered place and this song comes from a really broken place. But I think it’s important because it is a part of who I am. It’s a part of what I went through. And if I am going to be honest in my music I have to share songs like that too.

“Music is my lifeline,” said Alaina. “Music literally pulls me out of everything I ever go through [career,  heartbreak, family, self-worth, love] and I feel really empowered with this music. I feel like this music shows my personal growth and my emotional growth. This EP of songs is all about loving myself through other people not loving me and not staying with me. It’s about me being able to get back to that same confident girl I wrote about on Road Less Travelled and to hold on to that confidence. I get to celebrate that with this music and I am so excited. I can’t wait for the fans to hear it.”

Getting Over Him EP Track Listing:
1. Run (Lauren Alaina/Ben Johnson/Kennedi)
2. If I Was A Beer (Lauren Alaina/David Garcia/Hardy)
3. Bar Back (Lauren Alaina/David Garcia/Hilary Lindsay)
4. Getting Over Him (duet with Jon Pardi) (Lauren Alaina/Paul DiGiovanni/Emily Weisband)
5. See You In Your Hometown (Lauren Alaina/Ben Johnson/ Kennedi)
6. What Do You Think Of? (duet with Lukas Graham) (Lauren Alaina/Johan Carlsson/Asia Whiteacre)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile