IBMA Announces 2020 Leadership Bluegrass Class

The International Bluegrass Music Association has announced the 2020 class of Leadership Bluegrass, an intensive three-day program of advanced interactive learning experiences designed to build commitment, motivate talents, and instill enthusiasm for addressing the future of the bluegrass music industry. Since its inception in 2000, Leadership Bluegrass boasts more than 400 graduates.

“This year’s Leadership Bluegrass class is as strong as any I’ve seen. The large number of diverse and high-quality applicants is quite a statement about the impressive qualifications of those selected and the reputation of the program,” says IBMA Executive Director Paul Schiminger. “Our association’s mission is to connect, educate, and empower bluegrass professionals, and IBMA’s Leadership Bluegrass continues to be one of the most important professional development programs in the bluegrass music industry. Participation in this class and future alumni activities is an impactful commitment to one’s career, the IBMA, and the bluegrass community. Congratulations to the Class of 2020!”

Leadership Bluegrass 2020 will take place March 2-4 at BMI in Nashville.

The members of the class of 2020 are:
Jake Blount – Washington, D.C.
David Brower – PineCone / WUNC – Carrboro, NC
Thomas Cassell – Circus No. 9 – Johnson City, TN
Ethan Charles – International Bluegrass Music Association – Nashville, TN
Jennifer Danielson – Pandora – Nashville, TN
Worth Dixon – D’Addario & Company, Inc. – Farmingdale, NY
Rick Faris – Special Consensus – Topeka, KA
Rebecca Frazier – Rebecca Frazier and Hit & Run – Nashville, TN
Greg Garrison – Leftover Salmon / University of Colorado – Denver – Lakewood, CO
Dave Howard – Louisville Folk School – Louisville, KY
Fred Knittel – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings – Washington, D.C.
Marianne Kovatch – Blue Ridge Music Center – Winton-Salem, NC
Evie Ladin – Evie Ladin Band – Oakland, CA
Michelle Lee – WOBL / Bluegrass Borderline / Smoked Country Jam – Sheffield Lake, OH
Ed Leonard – Billy Blue Records – Hendersonville, TN
Ned Luberecki – Becky Buller Band / SiriusXM – Nashville, TN
Didier Philippe – La Roche Bluegrass Festival – Etaux, France
Lauren Price Napier – The Price Sisters – Hyden, KY
Angela Sommers Rees – Dorrigo Folk & Bluegrass Festival – Dorrigo, NSW, Australia
Brian Swenk – Big Daddy Love / Midwood Entertainment – Glen Allen, VA
Abi Tapia – Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum – Nashville, TN
Suzy Thompson – Berkeley Old Time Music Convention – Berkeley, CA
Amanda Thompson – Frankfort Bluegrass Festival – Mokena, IL
Roxanne Tromly – Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame and Museum / ROMP Fest – Owensboro, KY
Natalya Weinstein Miller – Zoe & Cloyd / Warren Wilson College – Fairview, NC
Benjamin Wright – Henhouse Prowlers / Bluegrass Ambassadors – Chicago, IL


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile