CMA Presents Industry Honors

Bill Simmons (The AMG Co-Founder and CMA Board member) and Ann Edelblute (The HQ Owner and CMA Board member) receive the CMA Chairman’s Award during an intimate CMA Board reception at the Analog at Hutton Hotel in Nashville Tuesday, Nov. 19. Photo: Caitlin Harris/CMA

The Country Music Association honored seven of Nashville’s music industry members recently, during the 53rd Annual CMA Awards, as well as during the CMA Board reception, held Nov. 19 at the Analog at Hutton Hotel.

During the CMA Board reception, The HQ owner and CMA Board member Ann Edelblute, along with The AMG Co-Founder and CMA Board member Bill Simmons, received the CMA Chairman’s Award from BMI’s Jody Williams.

“Ann Edelblute and Bill Simmons spent countless hours year-round helping to guide the vision of the CMA Awards with their clients Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley,” said Williams, CMA Board Chairman. “Ann is one of the dearest people in our music community and I’ve learned so much from Bill about people and management.”

Nine-time CMA Award-winning artist and Country Music Hall of Famer Randy Owen of the group Alabama was honored with the CMA Foundation Humanitarian Award.

Country Aircheck Publisher and CEO (and CMA Board member) Lon Helton was honored with the J. William Denny Award. Dale Morris (Dale Morris & Associates Owner) received the Irving Waugh Award of Excellence, presented by Old Dominion’s Matthew Ramsey.

In addition, the CMA’s CEO Sarah Trahern presented mementos to Williams and Kurt Johnson (Townsquare Media Senior Vice President and CMA Board President). The CMA Foundation’s Exec. Director Tiffany Kerns presented to Girlilla Marketing Founder/CEO and CMA Foundation Chair Jennie Smythe.

The reception also featured performances from the new class of the CMA Kixstart Artist Scholarship recipientsAngie K, Everette and Kylie Morgan, followed by a Q&A led by Rod Phillips (iHeartMedia Executive Vice President of Country Programming Strategy and CMA Board member).

Journalist and HITS Magazine Nashville Editor Holly Gleason was honored with the CMA Media Achievement Award, which was presented by Miranda Lambert during a backstage press conference during the CMA Awards broadcast. Prior to the broadcast, CAA Nashville Partner and CMA Board member John Huie presented Bell Media Head of Content, Strategy, and iHeartRadio Rob Farina with the CMA Wesley Rose International Media Achievement Award.

Pictured (L-R): Jody Williams (BMI Vice President of Creative, Nashville and CMA Board Chairman), Randy Owen, Sarah Trahern (CMA Chief Executive Officer) and Lon Helton (Country Aircheck Publisher/CEO and CMA Board member). Photo: Caitlin Harris/CMA

Pictured (L-R): Miranda Lambert, Holly Gleason (Journalist and HITS Magazine Nashville Editor), Todd Hensley (HITS Magazine President). Photo: Leah Puttkammer/Getty Images

Pictured (L-R): John Huie (CAA Nashville Partner and CMA Board member), Marion Kraft (Shopkeeper Management Owner and CMA Board member), Rob Farina (Bell Media Head of Content, Strategy and iHeartRadio), Scott Borchetta (Big Machine Label Group Founder, President and CEO and CMA Board member). Photo: Caitlin Harris/CMA

Pictured (L-R): J. William Denny (Denny Properties Owner and CMA Board member), Lon Helton (Country Aircheck Publisher and CEO and CMA Board member). Photo: Caitlin Harris/CMA

Pictured (L-R): Old Dominion’s Matthew Ramsey, Dale Morris (Dale Morris & Associates Owner), Sarah Trahern (CMA Chief Executive Officer), Jody Williams (BMI Vice President of Creative, Nashville and CMA Board Chairman). Photo: Caitlin Harris/CMA


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile