Ruston Kelly’s ‘Dirt Emo Vol. 1’ Coming In October

Ruston Kelly will release his new album, Dirt Emo Vol. 1, on Oct. 11 via Rounder Records. The eight-track project consists of Kelly’s favorite emo songs, including a rendition of Dashboard Confessional’s “Screaming Infidelities,” featuring the band’s lead singer Chris Carrabba, which is premiering today.

“I don’t play country, this stuff is dirt emo. It’s like crying in a barn or angsting in your room with a banjo,” said Kelly of the new music.

In addition to “Screaming Infidelities,” the project also includes Kelly’s previously released versions of The Carter Family’s “Weeping Willow” and Taylor Swift’s “All Too Well.”

The release of Dirt Emo Vol. 1 adds to a landmark year for Kelly, whose full-length debut album, Dying Star, was released last fall on Rounder. A track from the album, “Mockingbird,” is nominated for Song of the Year at the upcoming 2019 Americana Music Association Honors & Awards.

In celebration of the new release, Kelly will continue his extensive Brightly Burst headline tour this fall including stops at Atlanta’s Terminal West, Austin’s Scoot Inn, Los Angeles’ Troubadour (two nights), New York’s Bowery Ballroom, Boston’s Brighton Music Hall and several others.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile