Jason Aldean Shares Details On Upcoming Project ‘9’

Jason Aldean has revealed some details on his upcoming new album 9 on Macon Music and Broken Bow Records, which is set for release Nov. 22.

He offers up a whopping 16 tracks on the album, which is packed with the kind of blistering stadium anthems and cross-pollinated convention busters his audience has come to know and love. Among the writers contributing songs to the album are Rhett Akins, Michael Tyler, Neil Thrasher, Josh Hoge, Brantley Gilbert, Ben Hayslip, and Jaron Boyer.

Available now for pre-order, fans have access today to another new track “Dirt We Were Raised On,” along with the four previously-released songs off the upcoming album including its lead single “We Back.”

“People buy albums with eight songs for 10 bucks now, but with 9 it’s like you’re getting two whole albums at once,” Aldean said. “I want fans to feel like they’re getting more than they bargained for and I want it to be something they listen to from top to bottom, and never hit skip…or thumbs down or whatever.”

Aldean taps the spirit of the classic country drinking song on tunes like “Came Here to Drink,” “I Don’t Drink Anymore,” “Tattoos and Tequila,” and “Blame It on You.” Steamy R&B standouts like “Got What I Got” build off the heat of previous hits like “You Make It Easy,” while the electro-Country ballad “Cowboy Killer” joins arm in arm with the brotherhood-building “The Same Way,” a chest-thumping reach across demographic divides ready to rock stadiums across the nation. The project also includes a few hard-working heartland anthems that have always been at the core of Aldean’s story like “Camouflage Hat,” “Keeping It Small Town,” “Dirt We Were Raised On” and “Talk About Georgia,” which shows the deep well of pride Aldean still holds for his Macon roots.

9 Track Listing:

1. “Tattoos and Tequila” – (Michael Dulaney, Neil Thrasher)
2. “Blame It On You” – (Kurt Allison, John Edwards, Tully Kennedy, Michael Tyler, Brian White)
3. “Champagne Town” – (Matt Dragstrem, Josh Thompson)
4. “Some Things You Don’t Forget” – (Nick Brophy, Michael Dulaney, Jennifer Hanson, Neil Thrasher)
5. “Got What I Got” – (Thomas Archer, Alex Palmer, Michael Tyler)
6. “Keeping It Small Town” – (Jaron Boyer, Ben Hayslip, Morgan Wallen)
7. “Camouflage Hat” – (Ben Hayslip, Jameson Rodgers, Josh Thompson)
8. “Came Here to Drink” – (Jaron Boyer, Alex Palmer, Michael Tyler)
9. “We Back” – (Tyler Hubbard, Jordan Schmidt, Brad Warren, Brett Warren)
10. “Dirt We Were Raised On” – (Rhett Akins, Jaron Boyer, Josh Thompson)
11. “I Don’t Drink Anymore” – (Kelly Lovelace, CJ Solar, Neil Thrasher)
12. “Cowboy Killer” – (Jaron Boyer, Josh Hoge, Michael Tyler)
13. “One for the Road” – (Lynn Hutton, Brandon Kinney, Josh Thompson)
14. “Talk About Georgia” – (Kurt Allison, Tully Kennedy, Michael Tyler)
15. “The Same Way” – (Brock Berryhill, Brantley Gilbert, Cole Taylor)
16. “She Likes It” – (Jaron Boyer, Ben Stennis, Michael Tyler)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile