David Garcia Wins Christian Songwriter of the Year At the 41st Annual ASCAP Christian Awards

Matthew West and David Garcia. Photo: Ed Rode.

ASCAP celebrated its most-performed songs on Christian radio on Monday evening (Sept. 16), during the 41st annual ASCAP Christian Music Awards, which returned again this year to the Franklin Theatre in downtown Franklin, Tennessee.

The show opened with praise and worship group Miel San Marcos offering a rendition of “Danzo En El Rio.”

Matthew West presented David Garcia with the Christian Music Songwriter of the Year honor. Garcia’s most-performed songs include TobyMac’s “Everything,” John Reuben’s “Grace Got You,” and Francesca Battistelli’s “The Breakup Song.” Garcia is also nominated for several Dove Awards on Oct. 15.

The ASCAP Christian Music Song of the Year was “Reckless Love,” penned by Cory Asbury and Caleb Culver. Asbury is also the artist on the song, which was published by Bethel Music Publishing and Watershed Worship Publishing. Asbury treated the industry audience to an acoustic rendition of the track.

ASCAP was represented by President Paul Williams, CEO Elizabeth Matthews, John Titta, Mike Sistad, Beth Brinker and Holly Chester.

Cory and Anna Asbury perform. Photo: Ed Rode

For a 17th consecutive year, the ASCAP Christian Music Publisher of the Year was Capitol CMG Publishing, as publisher on recent hits including “All My Hope,” “Do It Again,” “Everything,” and “Resurrection Power.” Capitol CMG’s Brad O’Donnell and his team accepted the honor.

Russ and Tori Taff were honored with the Golden Note Award, which honors songwriters, composers and artists who have earned extraordinary career milestones. Russ was inducted in the Gospel Music Association’s Hall of Fame three times, as a singer in the Imperials, for his solo career, and as part of the Gaither Vocal Band.

Amy Grant shared several memories from her early tours with the Taffs, and the couple were honored with performances of “I Cry” from Joseph Habedank, “We Will Stand” (Chuck Cannon), and an electrifying performance of “Table in the Wilderness,” led by Darrell Brown with Cedric Sesley and the choir Out for Souls.

Pictured (L to R): ASCAP VP of Membership Mike Sistad, Darrell Brown, ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams, ASCAP CEO Beth Matthews, Tori and Russ Taff, ASCAP AVP of Membership Kele Currier, Amy Grant, and ASCAP EVP of Membership John Titta. Photo: Ed Rode

Other performances during the evening included Matt Redman’s rendition of “Do It Again,” while Garcia and Ben Glover performed “Grace Got You.”

A total of 21 most-performed songs were honored during the event.

Publisher of the Year Capitol CMG, with ASCAP CEO Beth Matthews in center. Photo: Ed Rode.

Guest presenter Amy Grant with ASCAP Golden Note Award honorees Tori and Russ Taff. Photo: Ed Rode


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile