Francesca Battistelli Announces New Album Release In October

Francesca Battistelli is set to release her album Own It, on Oct. 26. The album is the follow-up to 2014’s Grammy-nominated album If We’re Honest featuring the Grammy-winning song “Holy Spirit.” A pre-sale of Own It begins today. 

Battistelli, recently touted as an Artist on the Rise from YouTube Music, co-wrote nine of the ten songs on Own It with writers including Matt Maher, Mia Fieldes, Jeff Pardo, Molly Reed, Ellie Holcomb, Seth Mosley and Josh Bronleewe. “The Breakup Song,” penned with David Garcia and MercyMe’s Bart Millard, is the album’s first single and debuted in June to all digital outlets and its music video exclusively debuted on Apple Music.

Battistelli had prepared new music for an album two years ago, but so much changed during that time, the project took a completely different tone.

“I thought I had a handle on what this album was going to be, but my husband and I prayed before every songwriting session, and God gave me a completely different set of songs than I was expecting,” Battistelli exclaims. “These songs are so empowering. What they represent to me is my desire to own my identity in Christ, to kick fear out of my life, to own the present moment and not live in the past or even the future. I don’t want to walk in half of what God has for me. I want to walk in all of it. I want to own it! And I want that for everyone who listens, too.”

“Royalty,” the album’s second digital release, releases today on all digital platforms. Both “The Breakup Song,” which is climbing at radio and currently top 15 on multiple charts, and “Royalty” are available now with the live pre-order. Additionally, a special pre-sale with all LifeWay stores begins tomorrow, and with every advance purchase of Own It made in-store, the consumer will receive an advance CD of three songs from the new album: “The Breakup Song,” “Royalty” and “This Could Change Everything.”

Track Listing:

  • The Breakup Song
  • The Very Best
  • Love Somebody
  • Royalty
  • This Could Change Everything
  • As Good As It Gets
  • You Belong
  • Let The Light In
  • Defender (feat. Steffany Gretzinger)
  • Freedom


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile