Vintage Drivin’ N Cryin’ Project To Be Reissued Via New West Records

Drivin’ N Cryin’ are set to reissue their long out of print, 1997 eponymous album as Too Late To Turn Back Now on July 27 via New West Records.

Produced by Kosmo Vinyl, the album features the Drivin’ N Cryin’ trio of Kevin Kinney on vocals/guitar, Tim Nielsen on bass/mandolin, and Jeff Sullivan on drums. The newly christened Too Late To Turn Back Now was remastered by Chris Griffin and features new, original artwork by Kosmo Vinyl which was assembled by Kosmo and longtime Drivin’ N Cryin’ tour poster artist Mike Sears.

Too Late to Turn Back Now started out as a series of 45 rpm 7 inches,” explains Drivin N Cryin’ frontman Kinney. “It was recorded in Clay Harper’s little Five Points studio and produced by Kosmo Vinyl.  Kosmo had done a couple of Clay’s singles…production and artwork, and I asked him if he’d be interested in working with us for a 45?  The first single was about Lenny Bruce!  ‘Let Lenny B’ was a song from my early 80s punk band The Prosecutors.  As well as the song Drivin N Cryin’.  Kosmo IS real life rock and roll legacy. I was so honored to have his energy collaborating with us in this small, hot studio!!  This is why I do this. This is who I am.  Well, one single turned to two and since we were already four songs in, let’s add a few more and make an album…’album’ refers to a collection of recorded music by the way. But it took 23 years to debut in all its vinyl glory!!  We can’t thank everyone at New West Records enough for this. It sounds amazing. It’s too late to turn back now…I’m ready!”

Several artists have been influenced by the band. Most recently, Darius Rucker teamed with Luke Bryan, Charles Kelley and Jason Aldean to cover the band’s 1986 classic “Straight To Hell,” from the band’s Mystery Road album.

Drivin’ N Cryin’ Too Late To Turn Back Now Track Listing:
1. Keepin’ It Close To My Heart
2. Roof Garden
3. I’ve Got A Message
4. Drivin’ N Cryin’
5. Around The Long Way
6. Let Lenny B
7. Paid In Full
8. Everything’s Gonna Be Alright
9. Beneath The Undertow
10. Passing Through
11. Leaving On A Jet Plane
12. Nothing To Lose


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Label

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has over 20 years of music business experience and has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile