Jim Lauderdale Returns To Yep Roc With Two August Releases

Jim Lauderdale is releasing two albums simultaneously, Time Flies and Jim Lauderdale And Roland White, August 3 on Yep Roc Records. The two projects are Lauderdale’s 30th and 31st studio albums, and mark his long-awaited return to the Yep Roc roster after a decade.

Jim Lauderdale And Roland White is Lauderdale’s previously unreleased first full-length record, a collection of classic bluegrass recorded in the basement of Earl and Louise Scruggs’ Nashville home in the summer of 1979 and then lost for nearly four decades. Lauderdale was new to town at the time, while White was already a bluegrass legend, known for his mastery of the mandolin and foundation of such iconic groups as The Kentucky Colonels and Country Gazette. The master tapes went missing for 39 years and were only recently rediscovered at the bottom of a box by White’s wife, and the album provides an intimate look into the nascent beginnings of an Americana artist’s vast career.

Time Flies features Lauderdale at his best, writing and performing classic tunes distinctively infused with striking notes of country and soul. The project was produced by Lauderdale and Jay Weaver at Nashville’s Blackbird Studio and House of Blues Studios.

Lauderdale will mark the arrival of both albums with an assortment of upcoming live shows, including headline dates and festival performances such as this Saturday’s Appalachia Rising event at the Carter Family Fold in Hiltons, VA (May 19) and a May 31 show at Nashville’s Station Inn.

1. Time Flies
2. The Road is a River
3. Violet
4. Slow As Molasses
5. Where the Cars Go By Fast
6. When I Held The Cards
7. Wearing Out Your Cool
8. Wild On Me Fast
9. While You’re Hoping
10. It Blows My Mind

11. If the World’s Still Here Tomorrow

1. Forgive and Forget
2. Gold and Silver
3. (Stone Must Be The) Walls Built Around Your Heart
4. Six White Horses
5. I Might Take You Back Again
6. Try and Catch the Wind
7. Don’t Laugh
8. Regrets and Mistakes
9. February Snow
10. (That’s What You Get) For Loving Me
11. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
12. Nashville Blues


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile