Library Of Congress National Recording Registry Adds Kenny Rogers’ “The Gambler”

The Library of Congress National Recording Registry added 25 more songs, including Kenny Rogers’ hit 1978 rendition of “The Gambler,” which was penned by Nashville writer Don Schlitz. Also being added to the registry this year is Merle Travis‘ 1946 album Folk Songs of the Hills. Travis was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1977, while Rogers was inducted in 2013.

“This annual celebration of recorded sound reminds us of our varied and remarkable American experience” said Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden in a statement “The unique trinity of historic, cultural and aesthetic significance reflected in the National Recording Registry each year is an opportunity for reflection on landmark moments, diverse cultures and shared memories—all reflected in our recorded soundscape.”

The librarian selects 25 titles each year that are “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant.” Each title must be at least 10 years old before being added to the registry.

National Recording Registry additions (In chronological order)

1. “Dream Melody Intermezzo: Naughty Marietta” (single), Victor Herbert and his Orchestra (1911)
2. Standing Rock Preservation Recordings, George Herzog and Members of the Yanktoni Tribe (1928)
3. “Lamento Borincano” (single), Canario y Su Grupo (1930)
4. “Sitting on Top of the World” (single), Mississippi Sheiks (1930)
5. The Complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas (album), Artur Schnabel (1932-1935)
6. “If I Didn’t Care” (single), The Ink Spots (1939)
7. Proceedings of the United Nations Conference on International Organization (4/25/45-6/26/45)
8. Folk Songs of the Hills (album), Merle Travis (1946)
9. “How I Got Over” (single), Clara Ward and the Ward Singers (1950)
10. “(We’re Gonna) Rock Around the Clock” (single), Bill Haley and His Comets (1954)
11. Calypso (album), Harry Belafonte (1956)
12. “I Left My Heart in San Francisco” (single), Tony Bennett (1962)
13. “King Biscuit Time” (radio), Sonny Boy Williamson II and others (1965)
14. “My Girl” (single), The Temptations (1964)
15. “The Sound of Music” (soundtrack), Various (1965)
16. “Alice’s Restaurant Massacree” (single), Arlo Guthrie (1967)
17. New Sounds in Electronic Music (album), Steve Reich, Richard Maxfield, Pauline Oliveros (1967)
18. An Evening with Groucho (album), Groucho Marx (1972)
19. Rumours, (album), Fleetwood Mac (1977)
20. “The Gambler” (single), Kenny Rogers (1978)
21. “Le Freak” (single), Chic (1978)
22. “Footloose” (single), Kenny Loggins (1984)
23. Raising Hell (album), Run-DMC (1986)
24. “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You” (single), Gloria Estefan and the Miami Sound Machine (1987)
25. Yo-Yo Ma Premieres: Concertos for Violoncello and Orchestra (album), Various (1996)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile