Earls Of Leicester Named Entertainer Of The Year For Third Straight Year At IBMA Awards

The Earls of Leicester

The Earls of Leicester, Shawn Camp, and Molly Tuttle were among the big winners last night (Sept. 28) at the 28th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards, hosted by Bela Fleck and Abigail Washburn.

Held at the Duke Energy Performing Arts Center in Raleigh, North Carolina, the awards were voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA). The Earls of Leicester made it a “three-peat” during the awards, winning the coveted Entertainer of the Year Award for the third year in a row (2015, 2016, 2017). Awards were also presented to many first time recipients, including Tuttle, who is the first female to win Guitar Player of the Year.

The 2017 International Bluegrass Music Awards Recipients:
ENTERTAINER OF THE YEAR: The Earls of Leicester

VOCAL GROUP OF THE YEAR: Flatt Lonesome (their second win in this category, previously in 2016)

INSTRUMENTAL GROUP OF THE YEAR: Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper (their fourth win in this category, previously in 2008, 2009 and 2010)

SONG OF THE YEAR: “I Am A Drifter” – Volume Five (artist), Donna Ulisse/Marc Rossi (writers)

ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Mountain Voodoo – Balsam Range (artist), Balsam Range (producer), Mountain Home Records (label)

GOSPEL RECORDED PERFORMANCE OF A YEAR (tie): “I Found a Church Today” – The Gibson Brothers (artist), Eric Gibson/Leigh Gibson (writers), In The Ground (album), Eric Gibson, Leigh Gibson, and Mike Barber (producers), Rounder Records (label)
“Sacred Memories” – Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers with Ricky Skaggs and Sharon White Skaggs (artist), Dolly Parton (writer), Sacred Memories (album), Joe Mullins (producer), Rebel Records (label)

INSTRUMENTAL RECORDED PERFORMANCE: “Fiddler’s Dream” – Michael Cleveland (artist), Arthur Smith (writer), Fiddler’s Dream (album), Jeff White and Michael Cleveland (producers), Compass Records (label)


RECORDED EVENT OF THE YEAR: “I’ve Gotta Get a Message To You” – Bobby Osborne with Sierra Hull, Alison Brown, Rob Ickes, Stuart Duncan, Trey Hensley, Todd Phillips, Kenny Malone, Claire Lynch, and Bryan McDowell (artists), Original (album), Alison Brown (producer), Compass Records (label)

FEMALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Brooke Aldridge (her first win in this category)

MALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Shawn Camp (his second win in this category, previously in 2015)

BANJO PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Noam Pikelny (his second win in this category, previously in 20

BASS PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Alan Bartram (his first win in this category)

DOBRO PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Josh Swift (his first win in this category)

FIDDLE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Patrick McAvinue (his first in in this category)

GUITAR PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Molly Tuttle (first woman to win this category)

MANDOLIN PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Sierra Hull (her second year in this category, previously in 2016)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has over 20 years of music business experience and has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile