Wanda Jackson Recounts Her Rockabilly Days In Upcoming New Autobiography

BMG is releasing an autobiography on legendary rockabilly and country music pioneer Wanda Jackson, Every Night Is Saturday Night: A Country Girl’s Journey to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame on Nov. 14. The book is a collaboration with author Scott B. Bomar.

The iconic performer known as the “Queen of Rockabilly” and the “First Lady of Rock & Roll” landed more than 30 singles on the country and pop charts between 1954 and 1974, and she recounts tales from her colorful career in the new autobiography, which features over 80 photographs from her personal collection and a foreword by Elvis Costello.

In the new book she shares the story of being discovered by Country Music Hall of Famer Hank Thompson, why she refused to return to the Grand Ole Opry for more than fifty years, the challenges she and her integrated band, The Party Timers, faced when touring in a less racially tolerant era, and her personal memories of her relationship with Elvis. She also recounts the challenges she faced as a woman who introduced sex appeal to country and growling femininity to rock & roll, talks about her recent work with rock acts like Jack White and Joan Jett, and much more.

Jackson will launch the book later this year with several events and signings around its release, including Nov. 14 at the Grammy Museum in Los Angeles and Dec. 2 at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in Nashville.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile