Lilly Hiatt Finds Strength And Solace In Isolation On New CD

Lilly Hiatt is releasing a new album, Trinity Lane, on New West Records on Aug. 25. The 12-song set was produced by Michael Trent of Shovels & Rope and in addition to her backing band, Trent is a featured musician throughout, and is joined by his wife/Shovels & Rope partner Cary Ann Hearst for backing vocals on the tune “Everything I Had.”

The daughter of John Hiatt, Lilly lays her soul bare on the new collection, which is streaming now on NPR’s First Listen.

“Love will take you to the darkest places but also the most honest places if you let it,” she admits. “Learning how to love myself is something I’ve always been lousy with, and I spent some time on that. I thought about my sobriety, what that means to me, the struggles I’d had throughout the years, since I was a 27-year-old and hung up my toxic drinking habit. I thought about my mother, who took her own life when I was a baby, not far from my age at 30 years old, and I related to her more than ever. As you can see, there was plenty of time spent on my own. I didn’t talk to that many folks, albeit a few close friends, and leaned into my family. I found power in being by myself. After a while, I had all these songs to play, and wanted to share them. I think we all understood what it’s like to question home, intention, demons, love…I think most people understand that.”

Trinity Lane will be available digitally, on CD, as well as LP and can be pre-ordered now via PledgeMusic. Hiatt will celebrate the album at a Nashville release party at Fond Object on Aug. 25, and will also participate in the WEA/ADA Nashville Record Store Crawl on August 26th with an in-store performance at Grimey’s New & Preloved Music. She will also perform at the 18th annual Americanafest, and has announced additional Fall dates in support of the Old 97’s.

Trinity Lane Track Listing: 
1. All Kinds Of People
2. The Night David Bowie Died
3. Trinity Lane
4. Everything I Had
5. I Wanna Go Home
6. Imposter
7. Records
8. Different, I Guess
9. Rotterdam
10. Sucker
11. So Much You Don’t Know
12. See Ya Later


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has over 20 years of music business experience and has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at

View Author Profile