IBMA Reveals Nominees For 2017 IBMA Awards

The International Bluegrass Music Association revealed this year’s nominees for the IBMA Awards, during an event held at the SiriusXM Studios in Nashville Wednesday morning (July 26).

IBMA Executive Director Paul Schiminger announced the 2017 International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame inductees, which include Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard, Bobby Hicks, and Roland White.

Distinguished achievement awards will be presented to Norman Blake, bluegrass music publication Bluegrass Today, Louisa Branscomb, Fletcher Bright, and Silver Dollar City.

Entertainer of the Year nominee Balsam Range ended the nomination reveal with a performance alongside Female Vocalist of the Year nominee and reigning IBMA Mandolin Player of the Year Sierra Hull and Justin Moses.

Béla Fleck and Abigail Washburn will host the IBMA’s 28th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards Show on Thursday, Sept. 28 at Raleigh, North Carolina’s Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts.

Entertainer of the Year:
Balsam Range
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
The Earls Of Leicester
Flatt Lonesome
The Gibson Brothers

Female Vocalist of the Year:
Brooke Aldridge
Dale Ann Bradley
Sierra Hull
Amanda Smith
Molly Tuttle

Male Vocalist of the Year
Shawn Camp
Eric Gibson
Leigh Gibson
Buddy Melton
Russell Moore

Emerging Artist Of the Year
Front Country
The Lonely Heartstring Band
Molly Tuttle
Sister Sadie
Volume Five

Vocal Group of the Year
Balsam Range
Blue Highway
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Flatt Lonesome
The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Group of the Year
Balsam Range
The Earls Of Leicester
Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
Punch Brothers

Song of the Year
“Blue Collar Dreams,” recorded by Balsam Range; Aaron Bibelhauser (writer)
“Going Back To Bristol,” recorded by Shawn Camp; Mac Wiseman, Thomm Jutz, Peter Cooper (writers)
“I Am A Drifter,” recorded by Volume Five; Donna Ulisse, Marc Rossi (writers)
“Someday Soon,” recorded by Darin & Brooke Aldridge; Ian Tyson (writer)
“The Train That Carried My Girl From Town,” recorded by The Earls Of Leicester; Frank Hutchison (writer)

Album of the Year
Fiddler’s Dream, Michael Cleveland; Producers: Jeff White/Michael Cleveland; Compass Records
In The Ground, The Gibson Brothers; Producers: Eric Gibson/Leigh Gibson/Mike Barber; Rounder Records
Mountain Voodoo, Balsam Range; Producer: Balsam Range; Mountain Home Records
Original, Bobby Osborne; Producer: Alison Brown; Compass Records
Rattle & Roar, The Earls Of Leicester; Producer: Jerry Douglas; Rounder Records

Recorded Event Of The Year
“East Virginia Blues,” Ricky Wasson and Dan Tyminski
“Going Back To Bristol,” Shawn Camp with Mac Wiseman, Peter Cooper, Thomm Jutz
“I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You,” Bobby Osborne with Sierra Hull, Alison brown, Rob Ickes, Stuart Duncan, Trey Hensley, Todd Phillips, Kenny Malone, Claire Lynch, and Bryan McDowell
“Steamboat Whistle Blues,” Michael Cleveland ft. Sam Bush
“‘Tis Sweet To Be Remembered,” Mac Wiseman and Alison Krauss

For a full list of nominees, visit


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile