T.J. Martell Foundation Announces Board Members

The T.J. Martell Foundation has appointed 17 new members to its board of directors, as well as two additional members as part of the foundation’s executive committee.

Among the new national Board of Directors members are Big Machine Label Group’s Scott Borchetta, Warner Music Nashville’s John Esposito, and Sandbox Entertainment’s Jason Owen. Borchetta and Esposito will both serve on the executive committee.

The T.J. Martell Foundation is a leading organization for cancer, leukemia and AIDS research, with longstanding ties to the music industry.

In March, the foundation named Greenburg Traurig’s Joel A. Katz as chairman of the board, succeeding founder Tony Martell, who died in November 2016.

The Board of Directors have voted to award nearly $1.3M in grants to outstanding scientists in seven prominent hospitals in five states. Katz said, “Donors from all over the United States come together to support the brightest scientists with the most innovative ideas from Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, Columbia University Medical Center, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, and Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University.”

New National Board of Directors:

Craig Balsam, Co-Founder, and CEO of Razor & Tie
Larry Beckwith, Chairman of Iconic Entertainment Group
Scott Borchetta, Founder of Big Machine Label Group
Michael Cohl, CEO of S2BN Entertainment
John Esposito, Chairman & CEO of Warner Music Nashville
Steve Gawley, Executive Vice President, Business & Legal Affairs of Universal Music Group
Steve Greenberg, Founder & President of S-Curve Records
Julie Gurovitsch, Talent Executive, Music for “The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon”
Stanley Lim, Partner at Gelfand Rennert & Feldman, LLP
Ruby Marchand, Vice President of Repertoire Development at Warner Music Group
Charles B. Ortner, Partner, Entertainment Industry at Proskauer Rose LLP
Jason Owen, President and CEO of Sandbox Entertainment
Don Perry, Business Consultant for Greenberg Traurig
Darren Stupak, Executive Vice President/General Manager of Sales for Sony Music Entertainment
Russell Wallach, President of Media & Sponsorship at Live Nation
Brett Yormark, CEO of Barclay’s Sports and Entertainment
Chaka Zulu, Co-Founder of Disturbing Tha Peace Records

The Executive Committee:

John Amato, Co-President of the Hollywood Reporter and Billboard Media Group
Scott Borchetta, Founder of Big Machine Label Group
Tom Corson, COO of RCA Records
John Esposito, Chairman and CEO of Warner Music Nashville
Jody Gerson, Chairman and CEO of Universal Music Publishing
Monte Lipman, Founder and CEO of Republic Records
Julie Swidler, EVP, Business Affairs & General Counsel for Sony Music Entertainment
Marcus Peterzell, Partner, EVP Entertainment, Ketchum Sports & Entertainment (President)
Rick Krim, Co-President, Sony/ATV U.S. Music Publishing (Vice-President)
Julie Talbott, President, Premiere Networks (Vice-President)
Charlie Feldman, Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations (Secretary)
David Satler, Chief Operating Officer, Barclays Wealth Management & Investment Management, Americas (Treasurer)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile