Meghan Trainor Receives Vanguard Award At ASCAP Pop Awards

Pictured (L-R): Jasmine Thompson, ASCAP President Paul Williams, Meghan Trainor, ASCAP CEO Beth Matthews and ASCAP EVP of Membership John Titta at the 2017 ASCAP Pop Awards. Photo: Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for ASCAP

Meghan Trainor was presented with the prestigious ASCAP Vanguard Award during Thursday night’s (May 18) 34th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards at the Wiltern Theatre in Los Angeles. The award recognizes the impact of songwriters who are shaping the future of American music, and in addition to her 2015 breakout hit, “All About That Bass,” and two multi-platinum albums Title and Thank You, Trainor penned hits in 2016 for Rascal Flatts, Lauren Alaina, Jennifer Lopez, Fifth Harmony, and more.

During the ceremony Trainor was honored by Marcus Miller with a performance of “All About That Bass” and a surprise appearance by Jasmine Thompson, performing “Like I’m Going to Lose You” and her new Trainor-penned single, “Old Friends.” The Vanguard Award has previously gone to artists including The All-American Rejects, Arcade Fire, Band of Horses, Beastie Boys, Beck, Björk, Sara Bareilles, Diplo, fun., Jack Johnson, The Killers, Kendrick Lamar, Modest Mouse, The Strokes, St. Vincent and Walk the Moon.

Max Martin was named Songwriter of the Year for an unprecedented 10th time during the evening, recognizing his role in crafting many of the past year’s hits, including “Can’t Stop the Feeling!” (Justin Timberlake), “Send My Love (To Your New Lover)” (Adele), and “Just Like Fire” (P!nk). ASCAP Pop Song of the Year went to “Love Yourself,” written by Justin Bieber. And songwriter Diane Warren was honored with the prestigious ASCAP Founders Award during the ceremony and two stunning live tributes: LeAnn Rimes singing “How Do I Live,” and Jacob Latimore performing “Have You Ever.” In a surprise appearance, rapper Snoop Dogg, a past Warren collaborator, presented her with the award.

Sony/ATV was named Publisher of the Year for their role in 2016 hits like “Cheap Thrills” (Sia), “Don’t Let Me Down” (The Chainsmokers ft. Daya) and  “I Took a Pill in Ibiza” (Mike Posner). Posner honored Sony/ATV with a live performance of “I Took a Pill in Ibiza.” BMG took Independent Publisher of the Year for hits like “Hide Away” (Daya), “Work from Home” (Fifth Harmony), and “On My Mind” (Ellie Goulding). A full list of winners from the evening can be found here.

LeAnn Rimes performs onstage at the 2017 ASCAP Pop Awards. Photo: Lester Cohen/Getty Images for ASCAP


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile