Chris Stapleton To Release Two Albums In 2017, Reveals Track List For Volume 1

Fans anxious for long-awaited new music from Chris Stapleton will be excited to know that the singer is releasing not one, but two albums this year. The first, From A Room: Volume 1, is due out May 5 on Mercury Records Nashville. The album is the first new music from Stapleton since 2015’s breakthrough, double platinum monster smash Traveller, and comes exactly two years to the day since that album’s release.

Stapleton’s new project takes its name from Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A, where it was recorded during the winter of 2016-17. Once again produced by Dave Cobb, Volume 1 features eight originals as well as a rendition of the Willie Nelson classic “Last Thing I Needed, First Thing This Morning.” Other songs include the tune Stapleton just premiered on the ACM telecast, “Second One To Know,” as well as the album’s first single, “Either Way.” Among the writers who contribute songs to the new project are Mike Henderson, Casey Beathard, Craig Wiseman, Shawn Camp, and more.

The new album, which is available now for preorder digitally and in bundles, features Stapleton on vocals and guitar, Cobb on acoustic guitar, Morgane Stapleton on harmony vocals, J.T. Cure on bass, Derek Mixon on drums, Mickey Raphael on harmonica, Robby Turner on pedal steel, and Mike Webb on keys.

From A Room: Volume 1, will be followed by a second collection of songs from Stapleton, From A Room: Volume 2, which will be released later this year.

Stapleton will no doubt be performing the new material on his All American Road Show tour, which runs through November and features Brothers Osborne, Lucie Silvas, Anderson East, Brent Cobb, Margo Price and Marty Stuart as special guests. Seven new dates were recently added to the tour, which go on sale at this Friday, April 7.

From A Room: Volume 1 Tracklist:

1.  Broken Halos (Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson)
2.  Last Thing I Needed, First Thing This Morning (Gary P. Nunn and Donna Sioux Farar)
3.  Second One To Know (Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson)
4.  Up To No Good Livin’ (Chris Stapleton and Casey Beathard)
5.  Either Way (Chris Stapleton, Tim James and Kendall Marvel)
6.  I Was Wrong (Chris Stapleton and Craig Wiseman)
7.  Without Your Love (Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson)
8.  Them Stems (Chris Stapleton, Jimmy Stewart and Shawn Camp)
9.  Death Row (Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has over 20 years of music business experience and has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at

View Author Profile