Leslie Fram, Mike McVay Named First Innovation In Music Awards Recipients

Mike McVay, Leslie Fram

The Innovation in Music Awards has announced Mike McVay, Senior Vice-President/Content & Programming for Cumulus Media and Westwood One, as the recipient of the Heritage Award in Innovation and Leslie Fram, Senior Vice President of Music Strategy at CMT, as the recipient of the Innovation in National Media Award.

The inaugural event will be held June 6 at the Westin Hotel in Nashville.

McVay oversees the programming of 450 radio stations and two radio networks. Mike is a 40-year programmer with consulting, management, ownership, sales, programming and on-air experience, as well as having developed and launched several nationally syndicated programs. He has programmed around the world as a consultant with more than 300 stations to his credit. Stations programmed or consulted include those in America, Canada, Mexico, United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Grand Cayman and Puerto Rico.

McVay is a recipient of the Rockwell Award, was ranked #4 among America’s Top-Programmers by Radio Ink magazine, is #14 on the Top-40 Most Powerful Broadcaster list from Radio Ink and he was named one of the Titans of Talk by NTS magazine every year 2012-2016. McVay was also recognized as Broadcast Executive of the Year for the now defunct Radio & Records Magazine (2006, 2007 and 2008). He is a member of the Country Radio Broadcasters board of directors, on the board of directors for the Country Music Association (CMA), a board member for the National Radio Hall of Fame & Museum, a Gracie Voter for the Alliance for Women in Media and is chairman of the Radio Show Steering Committee for the 2017 NAB/RAB Convention.

At CMT, Fram oversees all music integration with the CMT brand for original programs, CMT.com and video airplay across all platforms. Negotiating vital partnerships with label and indie acts for exclusive content and premieres, she spearheaded new avenues to reveal and showcase on-the-rise talent, per the development of the digital series “Concrete Country” and the movement of “Next Women of Country,” designed solely to empower the female voices of country music.

Fram also serves on the board of the Academy of Country Music and has received honors such as the TJ Martell Award, NARAS-Atlanta Chapter Heroes Award, and Lifetime Achievement Inductee in the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame.

Founder Of Innovation In Music Awards, CEO Cold River Records, Pete O’Heeron commented, “We are excited to start this event with such well-respected names as Mike McVay and Leslie Fram. They were the first two phone calls for our inaugural show. Mike’s lifetime of innovation in programming and Leslie’s innovative program Next Women Of Country Music make them a “slam dunk” for this event!”

Nominations for awards are being accepted and reviewed by the IMA selection committee. Nominations can be made through the Innovation Music Awards Nomination Form.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile