BREAKING NEWS: Ben Vaughn Promoted To President, Warner/Chappell Nashville

Ben Vaughn

Ben Vaughn has been promoted to President, Warner/Chappell Nashville. Vaughn’s expanded leadership position was announced today (Feb. 1) by Warner/Chappell Music Chairman & CEO Jon Platt.

Vaughn will head the company’s entire Nashville operation, reporting directly to Platt. He will oversee all creative and commercial activities across A&R, administration, business development, finance, and human resources. Vaughn will continue to have a hand in signing and developing songwriters, while actively engaging in songwriter advocacy and rights protection initiatives.

“There are few places where the art of songwriting is more revered than Nashville,” said Platt, “and Ben’s promotion to the level of President is a reflection of how important this amazing music city is in the life of Warner/Chappell. Ben is a tireless champion of great songwriting talent and a music publishing executive of real passion and integrity. He is loved and respected by the Nashville community, not only for the songwriters he represents, but for his deep commitment to protecting the rights of everyone who creates music. Since joining Warner/Chappell in 2012 as EVP, he has taken our songwriters and our team to unprecedented heights, and he is the ideal leader to help us nurture the next generation of superstars and boldly take our Nashville company into the future.”

“I thrive on supporting and advancing the careers of songwriters, and I’m incredibly fortunate to work with some of the best in the world,” said Vaughn. “It’s a privilege and a thrill to be able to collaborate with the world-class team of people that make up Warner/Chappell. Above all, I’m proud of the first-rate service we give our songwriters, while constantly seeking leading-edge, innovative approaches to expanding their opportunities. Thank you to Jon Platt, who has been a fantastic mentor, partner, and friend. I’m eternally grateful for the trust he’s put in me.”

Vaughn was named one of Billboard’s “40 Under 40: Music’s Top Young Power Players,” having claimed the rare distinction of having overseen two major Nashville publishers. Before joining Warner/Chappell, he had already become the youngest executive to head a major publisher in Nashville (as EVP & GM for EMI). Prior to his work at the majors, Vaughn ran an independent music publishing company from the age of 20.

In the course of his career, Vaughn has worked with songwriters who have collectively won ASCAP, BMI, or SESAC Songwriter of the Year awards eleven times and earned Song of the Year honors from the CMAs, ACMs or Grammys 18 times. Under Vaughn’s leadership, Warner/Chappell received the award for ASCAP Country Publisher of the Year four years in a row, was recently crowned Billboard’s No. 1 Hot Country Songs Publisher of 2016, and its songwriters composed 52 of 2016’s Top 100 Country Songs.

At Warner/Chappell, Vaughn’s roster includes Rhett Akins, Lauren Alaina, Nathan Chapman, Dave Cobb, Corey Crowder, Dan + Shay, Jesse Frasure, Nicolle Galyon, Brantley Gilbert, Ashley Gorley, Ben Hayslip, Brett James, Jay Joyce, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Kelley Lovelace, Dustin Lynch, Lee Miller, Randy Montana, Brothers Osborne, Eric Paslay, Liz Rose, and Chris Stapleton, among others. Vaughn has also worked with noted songwriters such as Guy Clark, Ross Copperman, Dallas Davidson, Alan Jackson, Thomas Rhett, The Warren Brothers, Chris Young, and many more.

Vaughn is the President of the ACM Board, is on the board of CMA and Music Comms, serves on Belmont University’s Music Industry Advisory Board, and is a member of NMPA.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured, Publishing

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile