Garth Brooks Surprises CMA Broadcast Award Winners


Garth Brooks surprised radio executives on Friday (Oct. 7) with news that they are this year’s CMA Broadcast Awards winners.

“Radio plays an integral role in our format,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “These winners are advocates for country music in their markets and we are honored to be able to recognize their accomplishments and valued contributions to our industry.”

The winners of the 2016 CMA Broadcast Awards are:

2016 CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year Winners
National – “Country Countdown USA” (Lon Helton) – Westwood One
Major Market – “Chris Carr & Company” (Chris Carr, Jeff “Maverick” Bolen, and Kia Becht) – KEEY, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.
Large Market – “The Big Dave Show” (David Chandler, Chelsie Shinkle, and Jason Statt) – WUBE, Cincinnati, Ohio
Medium Market – “The Gator & StyckMan Program” (Gator Harrison, Greg “StyckMan” Owens, and “Cowboy” Kyle Croft) – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.
Small Market – “The Eddie Foxx Show” (Eddie Foxx and Sharon Green) – WKSF, Asheville, N.C.

2016 CMA Radio Station of the Year Winners
Major Market – KKBQ – Houston-Galveston, Texas
Large Market – WUBE – Cincinnati, Ohio
Medium Market – WUSY – Chattanooga, Tenn.
Small Market – KTTS – Springfield, Mo.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured, Radio

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile