IBMA Announces Nominees In Special Awards Categories

IBMA World of Bluegrass

The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) has announced the nominees for their Special Awards, honors that recognize outstanding work in categories including Broadcaster of the Year, Bluegrass Event of the Year, Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project, Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project, Print/Media Person of the Year and Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year.

The Special Awards will be handed out Thursday, Sept. 29, during a luncheon at the World of Bluegrass Business Conference at the Raleigh Convention Center in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina.

“Announcing the Special Awards nominees is yet another highlight of the year, as our membership recognizes and celebrates annual contributions of excellence by people who are the backbone of the bluegrass community,” said IBMA Executive Director Paul Schiminger. “The artistry and hard work of these nominees is vital to everyone in bluegrass music.”

Nominees are selected by a specially appointed committee made up of bluegrass music professionals who possess significant knowledge of the history of the genre. The recipient of each award is decided on by the Panel of Electors, IBMA members with deep roots in the bluegrass music industry.

The 2016 IBMA Special Awards nominees are:

Broadcaster of the Year:

  1. Kyle Cantrell
  2. Larry Carter
  3. Joe Mullins
  4. Ronnie Reno
  5. Alan Tompkins

Event of the Year

  1. 44th Annual Delaware Valley Bluegrass Festival (Woodstown, New Jersey)
  2. The 2015-16 Emelin Theatre Bluegrass Concert Series (Mamaroneck, New York)
  3. La Roche Bluegrass Festival – Special 10th Edition (La Roche sur Foron, France)
  4. Musicians Against Childhood Cancer (Lockbourne, Ohio)
  5. New Richmond Bluegrass Festival (Quebec, Canada)

Best Liner Notes for Recorded Project

  1. Darol Anger and Joe Walsh; The People Need Light by Mr. Sun; Compass Records
  2. Ron Block; Forbes Family Treasures, Volumes 1&2 by The Forbes Family; Rebel Records
  3. Peter Cooper; The Muscle Shoals Recordings by The SteelDrivers; Rounder Records
  4. Daniel Mullins; The Blues Are Still The Blues by The Traditional Grass; Rebel Records
  5. Larry Nager; Modern Day Man by Josh Williams; Rounder Records
  6. Jim Wood; Home Made Sugar and a Puncheon Floor by Howdy Forrester and John Hartford; Spring Fed Records

Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project

  1. Robert Hakalski; Traveling Roots by Matt Flinner Trio; Compass Records
  2. Dave Hummel and Charles R. Humphrey III; Traveling Show by Songs From The Road Band; Lucks Dumpy Toad Records
  3. Anthony Ladd; The Road’s Not Easy by Ash Breeze; Travianna Records
  4. Scott McCormick; Ladies & Gentlemen by The Infamous Stringdusters; Compass Records
  5. Jennifer Peck; Nothing But Sky by Delta Reign; Travianna Records

Bluegrass Print/Media Person of the Year

  1. Derek Halsey
  2. David Morris
  3. Daniel Mullins
  4. Penny Parsons
  5. Garet K. Woodward

Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year

  1. Chris Jones
  2. Charles Humphrey III
  3. Tammy Rogers King
  4. Milan Miller
  5. Donna Ulisse


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile