Willie Nelson Teams With The Time Jumpers For Ray Price Tribute Album


Willie Nelson will pay tribute to the late singer Ray Price, with the new project For The Good Times: A Tribute To Ray Price. The album is set for release on Legacy Recordings on Friday, Sept. 16.

Nelson teamed with producer Fred Foster and conductor/arranger Bergen White, who had worked together to finish Price’s final album Beauty Is… at Nashville’s Ocean Way Studios. Nelson also teamed with The Time Jumpers on six of the album’s tracks, including “Invitation To The Blues,” “Heartaches By The Numbers,” “Crazy Arms,” “City Lights,” “I’ll Be There” and “Don’t You Ever Get Tired Of Hurting Me.”

The Time Jumpers includes Vince Gill (electric and acoustic guitar, harmony vocals), Andy Reiss (electric guitar), Larry Franklin (fiddle), Joe Spivey (fiddle), Kenny Sears (fiddle), Brad Albin (bass), Billy Thomas (drums), Jeff Taylor (piano and accordion), Paul Franklin (pedal steel) and Willie’s Family Band harmonica player Mickey Raphael.

Nelson’s musical relationship with Price began in 1960, when Nelson was an aspiring artist and songwriter. After Nelson made the move to Nashville, his song “Night Life” was used as Ray Price’s theme music to open his concerts. Nelson continued to work with Price on projects including San Antonio Rose (1980), Run That by Me One More Time (2003) and Last of the Breed (2007), a trio album with Merle Haggard. Ray Price made an appearance, singing “Cold War with You,” on Willie’s 2012 Legacy album Heroes.

For The Good Times: A Tribute To Ray Price track listing:

1. “Heartaches By The Number” (featuring The Time Jumpers)
2. “I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)” (featuring The Time Jumpers)
3. “Faded Love”
4. “It Always Will Be”
5. “City Lights” (featuring The Time Jumpers)
6. “Don’t You Ever Get Tired Of Hurting Me” (featuring The Time Jumpers)
7. “Make The World Go Away”
8. “I’m Still Not Over You”
9. “Night Life”
10. “Crazy Arms” (featuring The Time Jumpers)
11. “Invitation To The Blues” (featuring The Time Jumpers)
12. “For The Good Times”


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Label

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile