Lucinda Williams To Release Double Studio Album in September

spirit meets the bone111Lucinda Williams will release her first double studio album, Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone, on Sept. 30. The project will we available on Williams’ new independent label Highway Records, via Thirty Tigers.

Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone will offer 20 new songs, with 18 written solely by Williams. The album’s opening track, “Compassion,” was originally a poem written by her father, poet Miller Williams. Lucinda wrote the music and additional lyrics for the song.

Guests on the project include guitarists Bill Frisell and Tony Joe White, Faces keyboardist Ian McLagan, Elvis Costello’s rhythm section of Pete Thomas (drums) and Davey Faragaher (bass) and Wallflowers guitarist Stuart Mathis.

Jakob Dylan adds harmony vocals on “It’s Gonna Rain,” while Williams’ longtime rhythm section of Butch Norton (drums) and David Sutton (bass) make significant contributions.

Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone was produced by Williams, Tom Overby and Greg Leisz.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile