Jim Weatherly, Del Bryant Honored at Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction

Songwriters Hall Of Fame 45th Annual Induction And Awards - Show

Del Bryant

Ray Davies, Donovan, Graham Gouldman, Mark James and Jim Weatherly were inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame last night (June 12) during the 2014 Songwriters Hall of Fame 45th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner in New York.

Honored with special awards were Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff, who were presented with the Johnny Mercer Award; Dan Reynolds (of Imagine Dragons), who received the Hal David Starlight Award. Doug Morris received the Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award, and Del Bryant was presented with the Visionary Leadership Award. The 2014 Towering Song Award was awarded to “Over the Rainbow,” which was written by Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees Harold Arlen & E.Y. Harburg, and published by EMI Feist Catalog, Inc.

Martina McBride inducted James and offered a performance of his classic song, “Suspicious Minds.” After paying tribute to music legends including Elvis Presley and Willie Nelson, James offered his own renditions of “Eyes Of A New York Woman,” “Always On My Mind,” and “Hooked On A Feeling.”

Rosanne Cash presented the Visionary Leadership Award to BMI President Del R. Bryant. The award acknowledges a member of the Songwriters Hall of Fame Board of Directors who has made a significant contribution in furthering the ongoing mission of the organization.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured, Organizations, Publishing

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile