Inaugural ACL Hall of Fame To Induct Willie Nelson

willie-nelsonAustin City Limits has launched the ACL Hall of Fame and will honor inaugural inductees Willie Nelson, Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble (featuring Chris Layton, Tommy Shannon and Reese Wynans), as well as Austin City Limits show creator Bill Arhos and longtime University of Texas football coach Darrell K. Royal.

The inaugural Induction Ceremony will take place Saturday, April 26, 2014, at ACL’s original home at KLRU’s Studio 6A. Performers during the evening will include Willie Nelson, Lukas Nelson, Double Trouble, Doyle Bramhall II, Mike Farris, Buddy Guy, Emmylou Harris, Lyle Lovett, Lukas Nelson, Robert Randolph and Kenny Wayne Shepherd. Former University of Texas football head coach Mack Brown will participate in the inductions.

The inaugural ceremony will be an invitation-only benefit for ACL parent station KLRU-TV, Austin PBS.

“There are other Halls of Fame, but none quite like this,” says ACL Executive Producer Terry Lickona. “Austin City Limits has become a unique American institution, in both the worlds of popular music and television. It has such a rich history and legacy that we decided it was time to celebrate and honor the artists and individuals who made it what it is today.”

ACL began broadcasting in 1976 as a live-music show that served to showcase musicians; it has since grown to feature performers of all genres from all over the globe. ACL’s 40th Season will premiere in October 2014. The program airs weekly on PBS stations nationwide, and episodes are made available online at


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile