Unsigned Only Music Competition Chooses Winners

The US-based Unsigned Only Music Competition has announced its winners for 2013. Unsigned artists from a variety of music genres competed and were considered by a panel of artist and industry judges, including Hunter Hayes, Dustin Lynch, Craig Morgan, Chrissie Hynde (Pretenders), John Oates (Hall and Oates) and others.

Wes Mack

Wes Mack

The competition’s overall grand prize went to rising Country singer Wes Mack of Calgary, AB, Canada. Mack has had a recurring role on the CBC Western drama Heartland and has opened shows for Florida Georgia Line. He has spent the past year writing and recording in Vancouver and Nashville; his first single “Duet,” featuring Carly McKillip of One More Girl, is charting on Canadian Country radio. For more information, visit wesmack.com.

fairchild brothers111

Fairchild Brothers

Winners of the first place prize in the Country category are the Fairchild Brothers of Toronto, ON, Canada. Comprised of brothers Jeff, Donny, David and Phil Smith, the group began as a modern rock alternative group, but now describe their sound as Adult Contemporary/Top40 with a dash of modern Country sound. Their single “I Have Your Touch” earned them top billing in the Country category. For more information, visit fairchildbros.com.

rachel honza111

Rachel Honza

Taking second place in the Country category was Rachel Honza of Nederland, Texas for her song “Anonymous.” For more information, visit rachelhonza.com.

For a full list of winners, visit unsignedonly.com.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile