Richard Thompson Gets “Electric” in Nashville

English folk-rocker Richard Thompson is returning with a guitar-driven album titled Electric, due out Feb. 5 via New West Records. The album’s first single, “Good Things Happen to Bad People,” is currently available for streaming at

Recorded in Nashville at producer Buddy Miller’s home studio, Electric features 11 new Thompson-penned songs. Thompson also brought his legendary guitar skills to the studio, backed by his rhythm section of Michael Jerome on drums and Taras Prodaniuk on bass. Other guests include Alison Krauss (on “The Snow Goose”), English singer Siobhan Maher-Kennedy, and fiddler Stuart Duncan. A full track listing is below.

“It was a very organic process, a very unselfconscious process, and I think that’s a kind of halfway house between the last record and a real recording studio,” Thompson told Rolling Stone about recording Electric in Nashville.

In addition to his guitar talents, Thompson is widely regarded as a gifted songwriter. In September, he was honored by the Americana Music Association with a Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting, and is also a recipient of BBC’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Electric Track Listing:
1  Stony Ground
2  Salford Sunday
3  Sally B
4  Stuck On The Treadmill
5  My Enemy
6  Good Things Happen To Bad People
7  Where’s Home?
8  Another Small Thing In Her Favour
9  Straight And Narrow
10 The Snow Goose
11 Saving The Good Stuff For You


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

View Author Profile