New Performers and Host Named For “We Walk The Line” Tribute

The outstanding lineup for the “We Walk The Line: A Celebration of the Music of Johnny Cash” concert April 20 in Austin, TX is growing with the additions of Matthew McConaughey, Pat Monahan (of Train), and Shelby Lynne. McConaughey has been named as the event’s host.

“As an artist who has been doing this for awhile, I love and respect Mr. Cash more than ever,” commented Monahan.  “His music, his story and his great love for his wife and children continue to inspire me and I am honored to be a part of this beautiful tribute.”

Previously announced performers for the tribute concert include Willie Nelson, Kris Kristofferson, Ronnie Dunn, John Hiatt, Amy Lee, Shooter Jennings, Lucinda Williams, Jamey Johnson, Rhett Miller, Andy Grammer and Carolina Chocolate Drops. The show takes place at Austin City Limits Live at the Moody Theatre, and marks the year that Cash would have turned 80.

Backing artists through their performances will be an all-star band led by Grammy-award winner Don Was and featuring Buddy Miller, Kenny Aronoff, Ian McLagen, and Greg Leisz.

Tickets are on sale to the public here, and a portion of the proceeds will be donated to Charley’s Fund, which is helping find a cure for fatal children’s disease Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

View Author Profile