Final Waylon Jennings Recordings to be Released

New music will be released from outlaw country legend Waylon Jennings on September 11, 2012. Ten years after his 2002 passing, Goin’ Down Rockin’: The Last Recordings of Waylon Jennings will be available on Saguaro Road Records.

The tracks were recorded during the last few years before his death, originally with Jennings and his guitar accompanied by longtime bassist Robby Turner.

Turner returned to finish the recordings in Jennings’ honor with musicians who had long worked with the country legend, including Reggie Young, Richie Albright and tourmate Tony Joe White.

Jennings wrote 11 of the 12 songs, which make personal statements about his life. In addition to his own songs, the album includes White’s “Goin’ Down Rockin’” with White making a guest appearance.

“Waylon knows he’s surrounded by friends and all that hear this will feel as if they know Waylon in all his authenticity,” explains his widow, country singer Jessi Colter.

Of his 54 albums, 11 hit No. 1 on the country charts. Jennings charted and more than 100 singles and took 16 to the No. 1 position. He was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2001.

Goin’ Down Rockin’: The Last Recordings of Waylon Jennings Tracklist:
1.     Goin’ Down Rockin’
2.     Belle of The Ball
3.     If My Harley Was Runnin’
4.     I Do Believe
5.     Friends In California
6.     The Ways of the World
7.     Shakin’ The Blues
8.     Never Say Die
9.     Wasting Time
10.  Sad Songs & Waltzes
11.   She Was No Good for Me
12.   Wrong Road To Nashville


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Eric T. Parker oversees operations and contributes editorial for MusicRow's print magazine,, the RowFax tip sheet and the MusicRow CountryBreakout chart. He also facilitates annual events for the enterprise, including MusicRow Awards, CountryBreakout Awards and the Rising Women on the Row. [email protected] | @EricTParker

View Author Profile