Photos: Opry Goes Pink, Rocketown, WMBA

Photo: Chris Hollo

The Grand Ole Opry joined Women Rock For The Cure in the fight against breast cancer on Saturday, Oct. 22 with its third annual “Opry Goes Pink” show. ABC’s Good Morning America co-anchor (and breast cancer survivor) Robin Roberts was the evening’s special guest announcer and introduced honorary Survivor of the Year Yolanda Smith. Opry member Martina McBride flipped the switch to turn the Opry backdrop pink in one show, and Kellie Pickler flipped the switch in the second show. Other performers included Lauren Alaina, Edens Edge, Ronnie Milsap and more.

• • • • •

Community members from Nashville came together October 20 to show their support of non-profit teen outreach Rocketown. The “Redneck Rally for Rocketown,” presented by organization founder and recording artist Michael W. Smith, comedian Jeff Foxworthy, and primary sponsor Journeys, brought in over $350,000 gross to support Rocketown. Attendees included Governor Bill Haslam, Mayor Karl Dean, Rep. Marsha Blackburn, Congressman Jim Cooper, Zach Wamp, Mike Fisher and Carrie Underwood, and Tennessee Titans Rob Bironas, Jake Locker and Barrett Ruud. “I’m humbled by the support we’ve received this year,” said Smith. “This city rallied as a community on Rocketown’s behalf and because of that, we get to keep serving kids and families.  A special thanks to Jeff Foxworthy, who shared his special brand of comedy with us.  I’m not sure I’ve ever laughed as hard!”

(L-R): Jeff Foxworthy, ReGina Newkirk, Rocketown Executive Director; Michael W. Smith, Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam. Photo: Rick Diamond, WireImage

• • • • •

The Women’s Music Business Association recently welcomed Shari Warnke, VP of Strategic Partnerships for the CMA, as guest speaker for the Oct. 18 membership meeting. Warnke shared with the group a presentation focusing on her 28 years media and marketing experience.

(L-R): Holly Ashby, Vice President, Trina Lloyd-Weidner, Secretary, Brandi Simms, President, Sheri Warnke, Josee Deschenes, Social Co-Chair, Betsy Walker, Membership Chair, Amanda Fletcher, Social Co-Chair & Kama Upton, Community Service/Education Chair.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured, Organizations

About the Author

View Author Profile