2011 International Bluegrass Awards Winners

The results are in, and Steve Martin & The Steep Canyon Rangers were awarded with the IBMA’s Entertainer of the Year award at the 22nd annual International Bluegrass Awards last night (9/29). The legendary comedian has put out two albums of original bluegrass in the last two years, including his latest Rare Bird Alert.

Steve Martin with Dailey & Vincent at the 2011 International Bluegrass Awards. Photo: Alan Mayor

Winning multiple honors were New York-based The Gibson Brothers, who earned honors for Vocal Group of the Year and Album of the Year for Help My Brother (Compass Records). The Boxcars also nabbed two as a group, for Emerging Artists of the Year and Instrumental Group of the Year. Additionally, Boxcars banjo player Ron Stewart tied with the Grascals’ Kristin Scott Benson for Banjo Player of the Year. A full list of the evening’s winners is below.

2011 International Bluegrass Awards:

Hall of Fame Inductees — Del McCoury, George Shuffler

Entertainer of the Year — Steve Martin & The Steep Canyon Rangers

Vocal Group of the Year — The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Group of the Year — The Boxcars

Male Vocalist of the Year — Russell Moore

Female Vocalist of the Year — Dale Ann Bradley

Emerging Artist of the Year — The Boxcars

Album of the Year — Help My Brother, The Gibson Brothers (Compass Records); producers: Eric & Leigh Gibson and Mike Barber

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year —  “Goin’ Up Dry Branch,” by Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper (Rounder Records); songwriters: Buddy Spicher & Jimmy Martin; producers: Jeff White & Michael Cleveland

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year — “Prayer Bells of Heaven” by J.D. Crowe, Doyle Lawson, & Paul Williams (Mountain Home); producer: Ben Isaacs

Song of the Year — “Trains I Missed,” by Balsam Range; songwriters: Walt Wilkins, Gilles Godard & Nicole Witt

Recorded Event of the Year — “Prayer Bells of Heaven” by J.D. Crowe, Doyle Lawson & Paul Williams (Mountain Home); producer: Ben Isaacs

Banjo Player of the Year — Kristin Scott Benson and Ron Stewart (tie)

Guitar Player of the Year — Bryan Sutton

Fiddle Player of the Year — Michael Cleveland

Bass Player of the Year — Marshall Wilborn

Mandolin Player of the Year — Adam Steffey

Dobro Player of the Year — Rob Ickes

Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients — Greg Cahill, Bill Knowlton, Lilly Pavlak, Geoff Stelling, Roland White

Broadcaster of the Year — Katy Daley, WAMU Bluegrass Country

Print Media Person of the Year — Juli Thanki, Engine145.com

Bluegrass Event of the Year — Silver Dollar City’s Bluegrass & BBQ Festival; Branson, Mo.

Best Graphic Design — Ricardo Alessio & Erica Harris for Abigail Washburn (Rounder Records)

Best Liner Notes — Colin Escott for A Mother’s Prayer, Ralph Stanley (Rebel Records)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

View Author Profile