CMA announces Broadcast Awards Winners

The Country Music Association (CMA) announced the 2010 winners for the Broadcast Awards, culled from CMA members who are full-time, on-air personalities and CMA member radio stations in the U.S. and Canada. All entries were judged by a panel of distinguished broadcast professionals representing all market sizes and regions as ranked by Arbitron.

“We are thrilled to be able to honor Country radio,” said Steve Moore, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “While there are quite a few familiar faces among the broadcast personality winners, it is  exciting to see so many radio stations winning for the first time. It speaks to the great job these broadcasters are doing in their individual markets.”

The Broadcast Personality of the Year nominees are judged on aircheck, ratings, community involvement and biographical information. The Station of the Year candidates are determined by airchecks, rating history, community involvement and format leadership.

CMA Vocal Group of the Year nominee Little Big Town and CMA Best New Artist nominee Chris Young notified winners on the air. The CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year and CMA Radio Station of the Year recipients will be recognized during “The 44th Annual CMA Awards,” airing on ABC live from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. on Wednesday, November 10.

The 2010 CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year winners are as follows:
NationalLon Helton, “CMT’s Country Countdown USA” (Westwood One)
Major MarketLisa Dent and Ramblin’ Ray Stevens, “Lisa Dent and Ramblin’ Ray in the Morning,” WUSN, Chicago, Ill. (CBS Radio, Inc.)
Large MarketGerry House, Mike Bohan, Richard Falklen, Al Voecks and Duncan Stewart, “The House Foundation,” WSIX, Nashville, Tenn. (Clear Channel Communications)
Medium MarketAndy Ritchie, Alison Mencer, and Jimmy Holt, “Andy & Alison and the Morning Crew,” WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn. (Citadel Communications Corp.)
Small MarketBill Poindexter and Melissa Turner, “The Dex and Mo Show,” WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn. (Clear Channel Communications)

The 2010 CMA Radio Station of the Year winners are as follows:
Major Market – KWJJ, Portland, Ore.
Large Market – KAJA, San Antonio, Texas
Medium Market – WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn.
Small Market – WGSQ, Cookeville, Tenn.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Awards, Featured, Organizations, Radio

About the Author

View Author Profile