Bone Collector CD Melds Hunting and Country

Follow MusicRow on Twitter Print This Post Print This Post
• September 17, 2010

Michael Waddell

Noted outdoorsman Michael Waddell (Bone Collector) has joined forces with country songwriters Rhett Akins (“Gimme That Girl,” “All About Tonight”) and Dallas Davidson (“Honky Tonk Badonkadonk,” “Start a Band”). The resulting collaboration, a “hunting album” entitled, Michael Waddell’s Bone Collector: The Brotherhood Album featuring Rhett Akins and Dallas Davidson comes out on Reprise Records on September 28. Produced by Akins, Davidson and Brian Kolb, Michael Waddell’s Bone Collector: The Brotherhood Album featuring Rhett Akins and Dallas Davidson is squarely aimed at the hunting crowd.

The project evolved out of Waddell, Akins and Davidson’s love for hunting and the outdoors. The three began performing cuts from the album at Waddell’s Brotherhood Jam, a fan club concert which follows a day of hunting. The album is a collection of hunting and outdoor related tunes with some of the songs layered with humorous lyrics. From the playfully

Rhett Akins

titled “Weapons of Bass Destruction” to the stripped down balladry of “Granddaddy’s Gun,” the album combines catchy melodies and country twang.

Michael Waddell is the host of Realtree Road Trips and co-host of the popular Outdoors Channel hunting show, Bone Collector. The success of Bone Collector has been due in part to Waddell’s reputation as one of the most successful hunters and outdoorsmen in the industry. 

Singer/songwriter Akins’ first album, A Thousand Memories, released in 1995 on Decca Records  and spawned his first No. 1 single, “That Ain’t My Truck.” More recently, Akins has had cuts and singles with Brooks & Dunn, Rodney Atkins, Luke Bryan, Montgomery Gentry, Blake Shelton and many more. He currently has five singles on the charts: “Farmer’s Daughter” recorded by Rodney Atkins, “Chicken & Biscuits” by Colt Ford, “Gimme That

Dallas Davidson

Girl” by Joe Nichols, “All About Tonight” by Blake Shelton and “All Over Me” by Josh Turner.

Davidson is an award-winning songwriter whose No. 1 songs include “Rain is a Good Thing,” “That’s How Country Boys Roll” “Gimmie That Girl,” “All About Tonight” and “Start A Band.” He also has two No. 2 hits with Trace Adkins’ “Honky Tonk Badonkadonk” and Brooks & Dunn’s “Put A Girl In It.”

Track listing for Michael Waddell’s Bone Collector: The Brotherhood Album Featuring Rhett Akins and Dallas Davidson:

1. My Baby Looks Good In Camouflage (Rhett Akins/Bobby Pinson)
2. Weapons Of Bass Destruction (Rhett Akins/Dallas Davidson/Luke Bryan)
3. Yella Acorns (Rhett Akins/Dallas Davidson)
4. Granddaddy’s Gun (Rhett Akins/Dallas Davidson/Bobby Pinson)
5. Buck Fever (Rhett Akins/Dallas Davidson)
6. Hawgs (Rhett Akins/Dallas Davidson)
7. Duck Blind (Dallas Davidson)
8. Keepers (Bob Dipiero/Rivers Rutherford)
9. Hung Up (Rhett Akins/Dallas Davidson)
10. Openin’ Day (Rhett Akins/Dallas Davidson)



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured, Label

About the Author

View Author Profile