BREAKING: 2020 CMA Awards Nominees Revealed

The nominees for the 2020 CMA Awards were announced Tuesday (Sept. 1) morning. Select categories were first announced by Luke Combs and Carly Pearce on Good Morning America, with remaining categories revealed by Ingrid Andress and Gabby Barrett during a live stream hosted by Ashley Eicher.

Combs received his first nomination for the night’s highest honor, Entertainer of the Year, along with Eric Church, Miranda Lambert, Carrie Underwood, and Keith Urban.

Lambert leads the nominees with seven nominations, breaking the record for most nominations by a female artist in CMA Awards history with 55 total career nods.

Combs follows with six nominations; Maren Morris has five; and Dan + Shay, producer Jay Joyce and Pearce each secured four.

First time CMA Awards nominees are Andress, Barrett, Justin Bieber, Jimmie Allen, Justin Clough, David Coleman, Jim Cooley, Luke Dick, Sam Ellis, Ray Fulcher, Caylee Hammack, Hozier, Zach Kale, Rob McNelley, Buckley Miller, Scott Moffatt, Randy Montana, Jonathan Singleton, Sam Siske, Derrick Southerland, Chris Tomlin, Tenille Townes and Laura Veltz.

It was also announced that The 54th Annual CMA Awards live broadcast will take place Wednesday, Nov. 11 at 7:00 p.m. CST/8:00 p.m. EST on ABC.

Entertainer Of The Year
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Miranda Lambert
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Single Of The Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
Producer: Dan Smyers
Mix Engineer: Jeff Juliano

“Beer Never Broke My Heart” – Luke Combs
Producer: Scott Moffatt
Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley

“Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
Producer: Jay Joyce
Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce

“The Bones” – Maren Morris
Producer: Greg Kurstin
Mix Engineer: Greg Kurstin

“I Hope” – Gabby Barrett
Producers: Ross Copperman, Zach Kale
Mix Engineer: Buckley Miller

Album Of The Year
Heartache Medication – Jon Pardi
Producers: Bart Butler, Ryan Gore, Jon Pardi

Never Will – Ashley McBryde
Producers: Jay Joyce, John Peets

Old Dominion – Old Dominion
Producers: Shane McAnally, Old Dominion

What You See Is What You Get – Luke Combs
Producer: Scott Moffatt

Wildcard – Miranda Lambert
Producer: Jay Joyce

Song Of The Year
“Bluebird” – Written by Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert, recorded by Miranda Lambert

“The Bones” – Written by Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins, Laura Veltz, recorded by Maren Morris

“Even Though I’m Leaving” – Written by Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Ray Fulcher, recorded by Luke Combs

“I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Written by Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Carly Pearce, Jonathan Singleton, recorded by Carly Pearce and Lee Brice

“More Hearts Than Mine” – Written by Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis, Derrick Southerland, recorded by Ingrid Andress

Female Vocalist Of The Year
Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist Of The Year
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Vocal Group Of The Year
Lady A
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts

Vocal Duo Of The Year
Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Musical Event Of The Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
Producer: Dan Smyers

“Be A Light” – Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban
Producer: Dann Huff

“The Bones” – Maren Morris with Hozier
Producer: Greg Kurstin

“Fooled Around And Fell In Love” – Miranda Lambert (feat. Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley
McBryde, Tenille Townes & Caylee Hammack)
Producer: Jay Joyce

“I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice
Producer: busbee

Musician Of The Year
Jenee Fleenor, Fiddle
Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar
Rob McNelley, Guitar
Ilya Toshinskiy, Guitar
Derek Wells, Guitar

Music Video Of The Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
Director: Patrick Tracy

“Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
Director: Trey Fanjoy

“Homemade” – Jake Owen
Director: Justin Clough

“I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice
Director: Sam Siske

“Second One To Know” – Chris Stapleton
Director: David Coleman

New Artist Of The Year
Jimmie Allen
Ingrid Andress
Gabby Barrett
Carly Pearce
Morgan Wallen

Finalists For Broadcast Personality Of The Year (by market size):

“American Country Countdown” (Kix Brooks) – Westwood One
“The Blair Garner Show” (Blair Garner and “Off Eric” Garner) – Westwood One
“CMT After Midnite” (Cody Alan) – Premiere Networks
“Country Countdown USA” (Lon Helton) – Westwood One
“The Mayor of Music Row” (Charlie Monk) – Sirius XM Satellite Radio

Major Market
“Angie Ward” – WUBL, Atlanta, Ga.
“Chris Carr & Company” (Chris Carr, Kia Becht, and McKaila Granning) – KEEY, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.
“Double-L” (Lois Lewis) – KNIX, Phoenix, Ariz.
“Fitz in the Morning” (Cory Fitzner) – KNUC, Seattle-Tacoma, Wash.
“Paul Schadt & Sarah Lee in the Morning with Producer Geof” (Paul Schadt, Sarah Lee and Geof Knight) – WKKT, Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill, N.C.-S.C.

Large Market
“The Big Dave Show (“Big Dave” Chandler, Chelsie Shinkle, Jason Statt and Ashley Hempfling) – WUBE, Cincinnati, Ohio
“Jim, Deb & Kevin” (Jim Denny, Deborah Honeycutt and Kevin Freeman) – WFMS, Indianapolis, Ind.
“Lexi & Banks” (“Lexi” Elena Abatgis and “Banks” Jared Danielson) – KUBL, Salt Lake City-Ogden- Provo, Utah
“Obie & Ashley” (“Obie” Obed Diaz and Ashley Morrison) – WWKA, Orlando, Fla.
“Ridder, Scott and Shannen” (“Ridder” Shaun Ridderbush, Scott Dolphin, and Shannen Oesterreich) – WMIL, Milwaukee-Racine, Wis.

Medium Market
“Brent Michaels” – KUZZ, Bakersfield, Calif.
“Clay & Company” (Clay Moden, Rob Banks, and Val Townsend) – WYRK, Buffalo-Niagara Falls, N.Y.
“Kenn McCloud” – KUZZ, Bakersfield, Calif.
“Scott and Sarah in the Morning” (Scott Wynn and Sarah Kay) – WQMX, Akron, Ohio
“Steve & Gina In The Morning” (Steve Lundy and Gina Melton) – KXKT, Omaha-Council Bluffs, Neb.-Iowa

Small Market
“Big Rick In The Morning” (“Big Rick” Daniels) – WGGC, Bowling Green, Ky.
“Bobby & Steve (and Mandi!)” (Bobby Cook, Steve Schwetman and Mandi Turner) – WKYQ, Paducah, Ky.
“Brent and Candy – The Cat Pak Morning Show” (Brent Lane and Candy Cullerton) – WYCT, Pensacola, Fla.
“Officer Don & DeAnn” (“Officer Don” Evans and DeAnn Stephens) – WBUL, Lexington-Fayette, Ky.
“Steve And Jessica Mornings” (Steve Waters and Jessica Cash) – WFLS, Fredericksburg, Va.

Finalists For Radio Station Of The Year (by market size):

Major Market
KNUC – Seattle-Tacoma, Wash.
KSCS – Dallas-Ft. Worth, Texas
KYGO – Denver-Boulder, Colo.
WXTU – Philadelphia, Pa.
WYCD – Detroit, Mich.

Large Market
KNCI – Sacramento, Calif.
KUBL – Salt Lake City-Ogden-Provo, Utah
WMIL – Milwaukee-Racine, Wis.
WUBE – Cincinnati, Ohio
WWKA – Orlando, Fla.

Medium Market
KATM – Modesto, Calif.
WHKO – Dayton, Ohio
WQMX – Akron, Ohio
WUSY – Chattanooga, Tenn.
WXCY – Wilmington, Del.

Small Market
KKNU – Eugene-Springfield, Ore.
WBYT – South Bend, Ind.
WKXC – Augusta, Ga.
WXBQ – Johnson City-Kingsport-Bristol, Tenn.-Va.
WXFL – Florence-Muscle Shoals, Ala.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Featured

About the Author

LB Cantrell is Project Manager at MusicRow magazine. She heads up specific, large-scale projects for the company and assists in day-to-day tasks. LB also manages the MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart and contributes editorial for both the print and online platforms. She joined MusicRow full time in January of 2019, after interning and working part time for the company for a year. She is from Blairsville, Georgia and graduated from Middle Tennessee State University with a Music Business degree in 2018.

View Author Profile