Taylor Swift To Release Eighth Studio Album ‘Folklore’ At Midnight

Less than a year after the release of her project Lover, Taylor Swift will return with her eighth studio album, Folklore, which releases at midnight tonight. A music video for a new track, “Cardigan,” will release simultaneously with the album release.

“Most of the things I had planned this summer didn’t end up happening, but there is something I hadn’t planned on that DID happen,” Swift, 30, wrote in a series of Instagram posts Thursday morning. “And that thing is my 8th studio album, folklore. Surprise”

In detailing the release, she said, “I’ve poured all of my whims, dreams, fears, and musings into. I wrote and recorded this music in isolation but got to collaborate with some musical heroes of mine…” She worked with Aaron Dessner, Bon Iver, William Bowery and Jack Antonoff, with engineering from Laura Sisk and Jon Low, and mixing by Serban Ghenea and Low.

Dessner shared on social media that Swift had approached him to co-write tracks in late April.

“I thought it would take a while for song ideas to come and I had no expectations as far as what we could accomplish remotely,” he said. “But a few hours after sharing music, my phone lit up with a voice memo from Taylor of a fully written version of a song.” They remotely wrote 11 songs for the project. “I’m very proud of all these songs and profoundly grateful to Taylor for inviting me into and trusting me in her process.”

The 16-track album will also be available via a physical deluxe edition that will include the bonus track “The Lakes.” There will also be eight deluxe CD editions and eight deluxe vinyl editions available for one week, with each deluxe edition including unique covers, photos and artwork.

The surprise album drop is a change from Swift’s usual modus operandi, which typically involves a long buildup to an album release, complete with blockbuster singles and attention-grabbing music videos.

“Before this year I probably would’ve overthought when to release this music at the ‘perfect’ time, but the times we’re living in keep reminding me that nothing is guaranteed,” Swift added via Instagram. “My gut is telling me that if you make something you love, you should just put it out into the world. That’s the side of uncertainty I can get on board with.”

Folklore Track List:
“The 1”
“The Last Great American Dynasty”
“Exile” (featuring Bon Iver)
“My Tears Ricochet”
“This is Me Trying”
“Illicit Affairs”
“Invisible String”
“Mad Woman”
“The Lakes” (Bonus Track)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Artist

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile