Luke Laird And Family Release Fun New ‘The Cool Chips’ Project

Songwriter/producer/Creative Nation co-founder Luke Laird found a fun way to pass the time during quarantine by making a new album with his wife Beth (co-founder and CEO of Creative Nation) and two sons Jake and Mack, known as the family band The Cool Chips.

The new project is a pop, country and hip-hop infused album, written and recorded at home during the COVID-19 quarantine. Laird found inspiration for the new collection of songs spending time with his kids, doing what they enjoy as a family and reflecting on his own childhood. He leaned into his love of country and ’90s hip hop, and wrote songs about life at home and the day-to-day of parenting. From playing basketball in the driveway and taking nature walks outside to getting the kids to brush their teeth, it’s a window into their personal family life.

The fresh, relatable and playful collection features six tracks including “Rocks, Worms, Dirt,” “Shootin’ Hoops,” “I Don’t Wanna Brush My Teeth,” and a beatbox-backed performance of the classic “You are My Sunshine,” which is four-year old Mack’s favorite bedtime song. The album is being released on CN Records, the record division of Creative Nation, and is available now.

The Cool Chips Track List: 
1.     Rocks, Worms, Dirt (Laird)
2.     Shootin’ Hoops (Laird)
3.     I Don’t Wanna Brush My Teeth (Laird)
4.     Don’t Be Mean, Be Nice (Laird)
5.     Night, Night (Laird) 
6.     You are My Sunshine (Davis)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile