2019 MusicRow Awards Category Profile: Song Of The Year

Following Monday’s (May 13) announcement of this year’s nominees for the 31st annual MusicRow Awards, we take a look at a newly-added category for this year’s awards, the Song of the Year category. The MusicRow Awards will be presented at a private ceremony on June 26.

See the full list of MusicRow Awards nominees.

Winners are determined solely by MusicRow Magazine subscribers. Voting closes on May 21 at 5 p.m. If you do not have a subscription, you may subscribe to receive a ballot.

2019 Song of the Year nominees:

“Burning Man” Luke Dick and Bobby Pinson expertly portray the dichotomy of the human spirit with their song “Burning Man,” recorded by Dierks Bentley featuring Brothers Osborne. The track’s driving rhythm beats in time with the lyrics: I’m a little bit holy water but still a little bit burning man. This is the first No. 1 for Luke Dick, who was nominated for MusicRow Breakthrough Songwriter in 2018.

“Girl Goin’ Nowhere”Where they said I’d never be is exactly where I am,” sings Ashley McBryde on her song “Girl Goin’ Nowhere.” Written by McBryde and Jeremy Bussey, the ballad inspires determined dream-chasing and gives a poetic middle finger to small-minded naysayers. McBryde, an Arkansas native, spent more than a decade writing songs in Nashville and it is all paying off now with recent accolades, including a Grammy nomination.

“On My Way To You” Revered songwriters Brett James and Tony Lane crafted “On My Way To You,” a love song about how arriving at a destination makes the rocky journey worthwhile. Cody Johnson’s traditional country recording of the ballad became his first major label single and has resonated with listeners. Johnson is also nominated for 2019 Breakthrough Artist of the Year.

“Rainbow” Songwriters Kacey Musgraves, Natalie Hemby and Shane McAnally want you to know that the storm is over and a rainbow is shining bright. Musgraves enchants on her delicate piano ballad recording of the song. She is also nominated for 2019 Artist of the Year and is a previous three-time MusicRow Awards winner, taking the triple crown in 2013 for Breakthrough Artist, Breakthrough Songwriter, and Song of the Year, which she shared with McAnally and Josh Osborne for co-writing “Merry Go ‘Round.”

“Speechless” Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Jordan Reynolds and Laura Veltz are co-writers of Dan + Shay’s romantic megahit “Speechless.” And they are all nominated in multiple categories for this year’s MusicRow Awards. Dan + Shay are vying for Artist of the Year, Veltz is in the running for Female Songwriter of the Year, and Reynolds is up for Breakthrough Songwriter. Additionally, the duo’s producer, Scott Hendricks, is nominated for Producer of the Year.

“The Daughters” Songwriters Karen Fairchild, Sean McConnell and Ashley Ray offer a song about the often unfair expectations placed on females with “The Daughters.” [Pose like a trophy on a shelf/Dream for everyone but not yourself.] Fairchild and her Little Big Town bandmates created a powerful recording of the song, which comes in advance of their ninth studio album.



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile