John Paul White Releases New Solo Album, ‘The Hurting Kind’

Grammy-award winner John Paul White released his new solo album, The Hurting Kind, today (April 12) via Single Lock Records, the independent record label White founded in 2013 with Ben Tanner and Will Trapp. A video for the track “I Wish I Could Write You A Song,” was also released today.

The former The Civil Wars half will kick off his U.S. tour tonight (April 12) with a record release show in his hometown of Florence, AL before making stops at New York’s famed Bowery Ballroom, Washington DC’s Union Stage, The Troubadour in Los Angeles and more.

White sought out classic writers like Bill Anderson and Bobby Braddock to collaborate with. “Coming out of each and every one of these situations, I got a resounding thumbs-up that I was on that right track,” said White of the collaborations. “I didn’t need anybody else’s approval after that.”

The Hurting Kind was recorded at Sun Drop Sound, White’s new home studio that he converted from an old, turn-of-the-century home in the historic district of Florence, AL, and at legendary FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, AL. The record was co-produced with Ben Tanner (Alabama Shakes) and features additional contributions from a core group of musicians including Jon Radford (Leigh Nash, Odessa) and Reed Watson on drums, Pat Bergeson (Chet Atkins, Emmylou Harris) on electric guitar, Jon Estes (Robyn Hitchcock, Kesha) and David Hood (Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section) on bass and Lillie Mae (Jack White) on fiddle, plus guest vocals from Lee Ann Womack and background vocals from Erin Rae and The Secret Sisters.

“I approached this album differently on the songwriting side before I ever got into the studio,” said White. “I really wanted there to be a torch song quality to it, the classic timeless quality. To not be afraid of the big note, and not be afraid of the drama.”

The Hurting Kind Track Listing:
1. “The Good Old Days”
2. “I Wish I Could Write You a Song”
3. “Heart Like a Kite”
4. “Yesterday’s Love”
5. “The Long Way Home”
6. “The Hurting Kind”
7. “This Isn’t Gonna End Well” (featuring Lee Ann Womack)
8. You Lost Me
9. James
10. My Dreams Have All Come True

The Hurting Kind is available to stream and purchase now. For White’s touring information, visit


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

LB Cantrell is Project Manager at MusicRow magazine. She heads up specific, large-scale projects for the company and assists in day-to-day tasks. LB also manages the MusicRow Top Songwriter Chart and contributes editorial for both the print and online platforms. She joined MusicRow full time in January of 2019, after interning and working part time for the company for a year. She is from Blairsville, Georgia and graduated from Middle Tennessee State University with a Music Business degree in 2018.

View Author Profile