ACM To Honor Jason Aldean As Artist Of The Decade

Jason Aldean will be honored with the ACM Dick Clark Artist of the Decade Award, and has been named as a performer for the upcoming 54th Academy of Country Music Awards.

The Artist of the Decade Award is presented to an outstanding country music artist or duo/group who has dominated country music over the decade, via radio success, digital media, sales and streaming, distinguishing events, touring, TV appearances and artistic merit.

Only five other artists have received the honor, including Marty Robbins (1969), Loretta Lynn (1979), Alabama (1988), Garth Brooks (1998) and George Strait (2008).

This Award was renamed the ACM Dick Clark Artist of the Decade Award after Clark passed away in 2012, in recognition of his many years as the ACM Awards producer and early host.

“On behalf of our Special Awards Committee, our Board of Directors and Academy staff, we extend our congratulations to Jason and his entire team on this landmark career achievement,” said Pete Fisher, CEO of the Academy of Country Music. “We look forward to celebrating Jason’s remarkable career at our 54th annual awards in Las Vegas.”

“This is probably one of the coolest awards I’ve ever been given,” said Aldean. “My heroes are on this list, something I can’t really even wrap my head around being part of. But, man I’m proud to be getting it – it’s for everyone who stuck with us and supported us through the years.”

The 54th annual Academy of Country Music Awards will air Sunday, April 7 at 8 p.m. ET on CBS.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile