Richey, Stevens, Griffin To Release Albums

patty griffin american kid11New West Records artist Patty Griffin will release her new album, American Kid, on May 7. The album, co-produced by Griffin and Craig Ross, is Griffin’s seventh album and first on New West. The album is Griffin’s first album of mostly new material since 2007’s Children Running Through. Since then, she recorded the Grammy-winning project Downtown Church in 2010 and became a member of Band of Joy alongside Robert Plant.

Tracklisting for American Kid:

Go Wherever You Want To Go
Don’t Let Me Die In Florida
Wild Old Dog
Mom & Dad’s Waltz
Faithful Son
Highway Son
That Kind of Lonely
Irish Boy
Get Ready Marie
Not A Bad Man
Gonna Miss You When You’re Gone

• • •

tate stevens album cover1X Factor winner Tate Stevens will release his self-titled debut project on Syco Music/RCA Nashville on April 23. The album features eleven songs, including three co-written by Stevens. Blake Chancey produced the album. “Since winning The X Factor, we’ve listened to hundreds of songs and set a ton of writing appointments with some of Nashville’s best songwriters,” says Stevens. “The outcome is a collection of eleven songs I’m really proud of, and I can’t wait to get this record out there!”

Tracklisting for Tate Stevens:

1. I Got This
Tate Stevens/Joe Diffie/Wade Kirby/Phil O’Donnell
2. Can’t Get Nothin’ Done
Tate Stevens/Ashley Gorley/Wade Kirby/Phil O’Donnell
3. Ride It Out
Tate Stevens/Shane Minor/David Lee Murphy
4. Power Of A Love Song
Jeremy Bussey/Bradley Gaskin/Marcus Franklin Johnson
5. Sweet
Kelly Garrett/Kendell Marvel/Tim Owens
6. That’s Where We Live
Carson Chamberlain/Wade Kirby/Phil O’Donnell
7. El Camino
Chris Hennessee/Donny Lowery
8. That’s How You Get The Girl
Dallas Davidson/Ben Hayslip/Rivers Rutherford
9. Ordinary Angels
Victoria Banks/Phil Barton/Emily Shackleton
10. The Last Thing I Do
David Lee Murphy/Kim Tribble
11. Holler If You’re With Me
Jeremy Bussey/Drew Davis

• • •

kim richey thorn in my heart1Kim Richey‘s latest album, Thorn In My Heart, will release April 16 on Yep Roc Records. Recorded at Mr. Lemon’s Studio in Nashville and produced by Neilson Hubbard, the project features 12 original songs and follows 2010’s Wreck Your Wheels. The album features appearances from Jason Isbell, Trisha Yearwood, Carl Broemel of My Morning Jacket and Pat Sansone of Wilco, among others.

Returning to Nashville after three years in London, the Ohio native says, “From the beginning I wanted this to be a country record. I think that all started back when I was asked to learn a country cover for a BBC radio program in Glasgow, The Ricky Ross Show. I learned ‘Sunday Morning Coming Down’ by Kris Kristofferson. We worked up a version to do at our shows. We started adding other songs to our show that had more of a traditional country feel and then it took off from there.”

Richey, a former professional chef, got her first record deal at 37 and co-wrote two number one hits, including “Believe Me Baby I Lied” for Yearwood and “Nobody Wins” for Radney Foster. Other songwriting contributions include songs for Jim Lauderdale, Brooks & Dunn and Patty Loveless, Mary Chapin Carpenter and James Morrison. Her vocals also appear on albums by Yearwood, Carpenter, Gretchen Peters, Isbell, Rodney Crowell, William Shatner, Ryan Adams and Shawn Colvin.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile