New Tracks: Blake Shelton, Trace Adkins, Old Dominion, Vince Gill, Tanya Tucker, Jon Pardi

Blake Shelton and Trace Adkins have reunited following their 2010 hit “Hillbilly Bone,” and the new song, “Hell Right,” is every bit as rollicking and righteous as one would expect. The track was penned by David Garcia, Brett Tyler, and Michael Hardy (who also goes by HARDY as a solo artist).


Tanya Tucker takes on mortality in her new track, “Bring My Flowers Now,” the closing track on her upcoming album While I’m Livin’. The track is co-written by Tucker, Brandi Carlile and the twins Tim and Phil Hanseroth, and advises friends and family to invest in loved ones while they are still living with lyrics like, Don’t spend time, tears or money on my old breathless body/if your heart is in them flowers, bring ’em on.


Vince Gill drew from his own personal experience with an attempted sexual assault for “Forever Changed,” from his upcoming OKIE album. In 2018, Gill performed the song at the Ryman Auditorium as part of the UMG Nashville artist showcase during Country Radio Seminar.

“I knew it was important for people to hear—it’s a real thing and you can’t sweep it under the rug,” Gill says, “It’s a story about sexual abuse and grew out of an incident that happened to me in junior high school—I was lucky and I escaped, but who knows how my life could have been different had I not gotten away.”


Old Dominion released a second track from their upcoming album, following the recent track “One Man Band.” The new track, “My Heart is a Bar,” was written by OD band members Matthew Ramsey, Trevor Rosen and Brad Tursi, alongside Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne.

Ramsey said of the song, “’My Heart is a Bar’ might be the loneliest sing-a-long of all time. It’s a song about feeling alone and used and pissed off at love to the point of throwing up your hands and saying ‘screw this!’ That’s a feeling a lot of people can identify with. It’s lonely and liberating at the same time. That’s why we decided to treat this like a big bar-room-sing-along so we can all sing and say ‘screw this!’ together!”


Brett Young continues revealing songs from his upcoming album The Acoustic Sessions (out Sept. 13 on BMLG Records), with an acoustic take on the autobiographical song “Chapters.” The song reunites Young with co-writer Gavin DeGraw, as they recorded the stripped-down version of the song at Blackbird Studios in Nashville.


Tenille Townes‘ latest release “Jersey on the Wall,” is inspired by meeting a group of high school students in Grand Manan, Canada. Townes met the students after a group of five students had been in a tragic accident, where one of the students, Danielle, passed away.

Townes returned to the school’s graduation ceremony the following year, watching as Danielle’s parents were given her honorary scholarship. Townes noticed Danielle’s jersey on the wall. Swirling with emotions and questions about loss and spirituality, Townes went in a writing session with Gordie Sampson and Tina Parole months later, where she penned “Jersey on the Wall.”


Jon Pardi released another track from his upcoming album, Heartache Medication (Capitol Nashville), due Sept. 27. “Tequila Little Time” begins with a bright horn section, followed by Pardi’s tongue-in-cheek proposition to spend more time with potential lover.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile