Michael Knox Promoted To Sr. VP, peermusic Nashville

Michael Knox

peermusic has promoted Michael Knox to Senior Vice President, peermusic Nashville, as announced today by Kathy Spanberger, President & Chief Operating Officer, peermusic. Knox, who previously served as Vice President of peermusic Nashville before his promotion, will continue to oversee all aspects of the company’s Nashville operation. In addition to his work with peermusic, Knox is also an accomplished producer who has produced 23 No. 1 songs and is well known for his work with superstar Jason Aldean.

“Michael’s creative and business leadership has been the reason peermusic has had such incredible success and growth in the country music space over the past few years. This promotion is a well-deserved acknowledgement of all of his contributions to the company. Personally, I am in awe of his abilities, especially his wicked sense of humor (!), and feel very fortunate to be able to work with him every day,” said Spanberger.

“I want to thank Kathy and the rest of the peermusic team not only for this promotion, but for the privilege to work with our amazing staff and the incredibly talented roster of artists and writers we have at peermusic Nashville. We’re all working together to build something really special here and I’m very proud to be part of it,” said Knox.

During his time leading peermusic’s Nashville office, the company has built itself into one of country music’s top independent publishers. It published the 2013 ASCAP Song of the Year with Randy Houser’s “How Country Feels” (co-written by Neil Thrasher and Vicky McGehee) and the 2016 SESAC Country Song of the Year with Dierks Bentley’s “Somewhere on a Beach” (co-written by Michael Tyler and Jaron Boyer).

peermusic currently has the number one most-added song at radio with Jason Aldean’s “Rearview Town” (produced by Knox and co-written by Neil Thrasher). The company’s writers also celebrate four songs on the country charts this week, including two songs in the Top 10, with Jason Aldean’s “Girl Like You” at No. 4 (produced by Knox and co-written by Jaron Boyer and Michael Tyler), Riley Green’s “There Was This Girl” at No. 8 (co-written by Erik Dylan), and Cole Swindell’s “Love You Too Late” (co-written by Brandon Kinney) and Jason Aldean’s “Rearview Town.”

Knox is on the ACM Board of Directors and has previously served on the CMA Board of Directors.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile