Garth Brooks To Receive First-Ever ‘iHeartRadio Artist of the Decade’ Award

iHeartMedia and Fox Broadcasting Company announced Thursday that the 2019 iHeartRadio Music Awards will honor Garth Brooks with the inaugural Artist of the Decade Award. The two-hour event airs live Thursday, March 14 (8 p.m. ET) on FOX from Los Angeles’ Microsoft Theater.

According to the press release, Brooks will be celebrated for his impact on the music industry as the best-selling solo artist in U.S. history, with more than 148 million albums sold. He is the first-ever artist to be awarded seven diamonds by the RIAA for having seven albums certified with more than 10 million sales each. Since the 1990s, Brooks has had nine No. 1 albums on Billboard’s Top 200 and 17 No. 1 albums on the Top Country Albums chart, spending more weeks at the top of the album sales charts than any other artist since Soundscan’s inception. The recent Garth Brooks World Tour with Trisha Yearwood smashed Brooks’ own previously held records by selling 6.4 million tickets, making it the biggest North American tour in history.

Also at the iHeartRadio Music Awards, Alicia Keys will receive the iHeartRadio Innovator Award and Halsey will be honored with the iHeartRadio Fangirls Award presented by L’Oréal Paris.

Artists receiving multiple nominations include Cardi B, Drake, Ariana Grande, Shawn Mendes, Post Malone, Maroon 5 and Imagine Dragons.

Select country nominees:

Country Song of the Year:

“Heaven” – Kane Brown

“Meant To Be” – Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line

“Most People Are Good” – Luke Bryan

“Rich” – Maren Morris

“Tequila” – Dan + Shay

Country Artist of the Year:

Carrie Underwood

Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan

Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett

Best New Country Artist:

Carly Pearce

Dylan Scott

Jordan Davis


Russell Dickerson


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile