Dierks Bentley Reveals Release Date And Track Listing For ‘Black’


Dierks Bentley has revealed the release date (May 27), as well as the track listing (below) for his forthcoming, eighth studio album, Black.

The 13-track Capitol Records Nashville project features special guest vocalists Elle King, Maren Morris, Natalie Hemby, Hillary Lindsey, Jessi Alexander and Trombone Shorty. It is available for digital pre-order on Friday (April 1).

Bentley dedicates the title to his wife Cassidy’s maiden name for the album, which explores breakups, hookups, mess-ups and everything in between.

“It’s a relationship album that covers the ups and downs of the journey and ends with some self-realization and evolvement,” shared Bentley. “The song ‘Black’ helps set all of that in motion at the top of the album by guiding you into the darkness and the shadows of the night. The same guy who sings ‘Somewhere on a Beach’ winds up growing and having enough perspective to sing something introspective like ‘Different for Girls.’ By the last song, he’s taking a look back on love and life.”

As previously reported, the project is produced by Ross Copperman and executive produced by Arturo Buenahora Jr.

The forthcoming album’s single “Somewhere On A Beach” lands at No. 6 this past week on the MusicRow CountryBreakout Chart.

This week Bentley is in Las Vegas preparing for his first-ever co-hosting duties at the 51st Academy of Country Music (ACM) Awards on Sunday (April 3) at 7 p.m. CT on CBS. He is nominated for Male Vocalist of The Year and Video of The Year. Bentley will set out on his 2016 Somewhere On A Beach Tour with Randy Houser, Cam and Tucker Beathard on May 12 in Holmdel, New Jersey, following a string of dates overseas.

BLACK Track List
1. “Black”
2. “Pick Up”
3. “I’ll Be The Moon” (feat. Maren Morris)
4. “What The Hell Did I Say”
5. “Somewhere On A Beach”
6. “Freedom”
7. “Why Do I Feel”
8. “Roses And A Time Machine”
9. “All The Way to Me”
10. “Different for Girls” (feat. Elle King)
11. “Mardi Gras” (feat. Trombone Shorty)
12. “Light It Up”
13. “Can’t Be Replaced”


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Eric T. Parker oversees operations and contributes editorial for MusicRow's print magazine, MusicRow.com, the RowFax tip sheet and the MusicRow CountryBreakout chart. He also facilitates annual events for the enterprise, including MusicRow Awards, CountryBreakout Awards and the Rising Women on the Row. eparker@musicrow.com | @EricTParker

View Author Profile