JD Souther Inducted Into Songwriters Hall of Fame

Songwriters Hall Of Fame 44th Annual Induction And Awards - Arrivals

JD Souther with Alison Krauss

Nashville songwriter JD Souther was among the inductees at the 2013 Songwriters Hall of Fame 44th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner, along with Tony Hatch, Mick Jones and Lou Gramm, Holly Knight, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry. Honored with special awards were Elton John and Bernie Taupin who were presented with the Johnny Mercer Award; Benny Blanco, who received the Hal David Starlight Award; Sam Cooke’s “A Change Is Gonna Come” was honored with the Towering Song Award; and the Pioneer Award was awarded to Berry Gordy. 

Souther saluted the wide array of artists he has collaborated with and has been influenced during his career, proclaiming he has “the best job in the world.” Alison Krauss, who inducted Souther, gave a moving rendition of “Faithless Love.” The Souther-penned song was originally recorded by Linda Ronstadt. Among his biggest hits are the Eagles’ “Best of My Love,” “Victim of Love,” “Heartache Tonight,” and “New Kid in Town.” During the past year he has also acted on ABC’s Nashville.

Others who were on hand to induct the honorees and/or perform during the evening include Petula Clark, Patty Smyth, Billy Joel (who inducted Gramm and Jones), Rob Thomas, Wiz Khalifa, Chad Kroeger, Ryan Peake (who performed Aerosmith‘s “Sweet Emotion”), Jordin Sparks, Smokey Robinson and the cast of Motown: The Musical.



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile