NSAI Throws “World’s Largest #1 Party”

Nashville Top Tunesmiths Pose for the Big Group Shot. Photos: Bev Moser

The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) hosted industry professionals on Monday evening (9/20) for the World’s Largest #1 Party, presented by Avenue Bank and The Recording Academy® to celebrate veteran hitmakers and talented newcomers.

(L-R): Fred Foster (Maggie Cavender Award of Service) and Aubrey Preston (Stephen Foster Award) accepting their honors for dedication to the songwriting community and supporting NSAI.

NSAI Executive Director Bart Herbison and NSAI President, Grammy-nominated songwriter Steve Bogard kicked off the festivities with two organizational awards – the Stephen Foster Award (in recognition of generous support for – and dedication to – songwriters, the music industry and NSAI) to Williamson County entrepreneur Aubrey Preston, and the Maggie Cavender Award of Service (in recognition of extraordinary service to the songwriting community) to legendary producer/Monument Records founder Fred Foster.

Throughout the ceremony Avenue Bank Senior Vice President Ron Cox and The Recording Academy President/CEO Neil Portnow presented awards to honor songwriters from the past year for their chart-topping tunes. Several stellar songwriter/artist pairings received accolades, such as Tom Douglas with Lady Antebellum, Brett James with Carrie Underwood, Cory Batten & Kent Blazy with Chris Young, Shawn Mullins with Zac Brown, Ryan Tedder with Kelly Clarkson, Liz Rose with Taylor Swift and Ammo & Pebe Sebert with Ke$ha. Douglas and James each earned a total of three awards making them the top achievers of the year. For more information, visit nashvillesongwriters.com.

(L-R): NSAI President Steve Bogard, The Recording Academy President/CEO Neil Portnow, “Hillbilly Bone” co-writers Craig Wiseman, Luke Laird and Avenue Bank Senior Vice President Ron Cox.

Full List of Winners:

• Rory Lee Feek, Don Poythress, Wynn Varble (“A Little More Country Than That” – Easton Corbin)
• Kelly Clarkson, Ryan Tedder (“Already Gone” – Kelly Clarkson)
• Frank Rogers, Darius Rucker (“Alright” – Darius Rucker)
• Cary Barlowe,  Hillary Lindsey, Shane Stevens (“American Honey – Lady Antebellum)
• Dave Pahanish, Joe West (“American Ride” – Toby Keith)
• Jim Collins, David Lee Murphy (“Big Green Tractor” – Jason Aldean)
• Steve Diamond, Marv Green (“Consider Me Gone” – Reba McEntire)
• Mike Elizondo, Brett James, Carrie Underwood (“Cowboy Casanova” – Carrie Underwood)
• Cory Batten, Kent Blazy, Chris Young  (“Gettin’ You Home (The Black Dress Song)” – Chris Young)
• Rhett Akins, Dallas Davidson, Ben Hayslip (“Gimmie That Girl” – Joe Nichols)
• Zac Brown, Wyatt Durrette (“Highway 20 Ride” – Zac Brown Band)
• Luke Laird, Craig Wiseman (“Hillbilly Bone” – Blake Shelton/Trace Adkins)
• Tom Douglas, Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott (“I Run To You” – Lady Antebellum)
• Rollo Armstrong, Mark Bates, Harlan Howard, Kristian Leontiou (“Kandi” – One eskimO)
• Dave Haywood, Josh Kear, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott (“Need You Now” – Lady Antebellum)
• Steve McEwan, John Reid (“Only You Can Love Me This Way” – Keith Urban)
• Bobby Braddock, Troy Jones (“People Are Crazy” – Billy Currington)
Agnes Carlsson, Anders Hansson, Sharon Vaughn (“Release Me” – Agnes)
• Jim Beavers, Dierks Bentley (“Sideways” – Dierks Bentley)
• Brian Dean Maher, Justin Moore, Jeremy Stover (“Small Town USA” – Justin Moore)
• Bob DiPiero, Tom Douglas (“Southern Voice” – Tim McGraw)
• Luke Laird, Zac Maloy, Carrie Underwood (“Temporary Home” – Carrie Underwood)
• Billy Currington, Dallas Davidson, Brett Jones (“That’s How Country Boys Roll” – Billy Currington)
• Jessi Alexander, Jon Mabe (“The Climb” – Miley Cyrus)
• Tom Douglas, Allen Shamblin (“The House That Built Me” – Miranda Lambert)
• Brett James, Tim Nichols (“The Man I Want To Be” – Chris Young)
• Brett James, Ashley Monroe (“The Truth” – Jason Aldean)
• Dr. Luke, Benny Blanco, Ke$ha  (“TiK ToK” – Ke$ha)
• Zac Brown, Wyatt Durrette, John Hopkins, Shawn Mullins (“Toes” – Zac Brown Band)
• Caleb Followill, Jared Followill, Matthew Followill, Nathan Followill (“Use Somebody” – Kings of Leon)
• Jim Beavers, Darrell Brown, Jonathan Singleton (“Why Don’t We Just Dance” – Josh Turner)
• Liz Rose, Taylor Swift (“You Belong With Me” – Taylor Swift)
• Ammo, Pebe Sebert,  Ke$ha (“Your Love Is My Drug” – Ke$ha)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Awards, Featured, Organizations, Publishing

About the Author

View Author Profile