Jimmy Webb Records With Nashville’s Finest

On June 29, Songwriting legend Jimmy Webb (“By The Time I Get To Phoenix,” Wichita Lineman,” “Highwaymen”) will release Just Across The River, a collection of new and old material recorded at Nashville’s Sound Emporium with a supporting lineup of some of Nashville’s finest musicians.

Among the album’s songs are “If You See Me Getting Smaller,” featuring Willie Nelson, and “Galveston,” with Lucinda Williams. Also making guest appearances are Nashvillians Vince Gill (“Oklahoma Nights”), J.D Souther (“I Was Too Busy Loving You”) and Michael McDonald (“Where Worlds End”).

Much of Just Across The River was recorded live over two days, with contributions from acclaimed session players like guitarists Bryan Sutton and Pat Buchanan, fiddler Stuart Duncan, and dobro master Jerry Douglas. Guest contributors from the pop side of the fence include Mark Knopfler, Jackson Browne, Linda Ronstadt and Billy Joel.

“From the very first song, first take, first note this record seemed blessed,” Webb says. “And then as each piece fell into place, a fully realized, conceptual work of art emerged. I hope everyone else feels what we did as we listened to the first rough mixes.”

Below is a track listing for Just Across The River:
1. “Oklahoma Nights” featuring Vince Gill
2. “Wichita Lineman” featuring Billy Joel
3. “If You See Me Getting Smaller” featuring Willie Nelson
4. “Galveston” featuring Lucinda Williams
5. “P.F. Sloan” featuring Jackson Browne
6. “By The Time I Get To Phoenix” featuring Glen Campbell
7. “Cowboy Hall Of Fame”
8. “Where Words End” featuring Michael McDonald
9. “Highwayman” featuring Mark Knopfler
10. “I Was Too Busy Loving You” featuring J.D. Souther
11. “It Won’t Bring Her Back”
12. “Do What You Gotta Do”
13. “All I Know” featuring Linda Ronstadt


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

View Author Profile